Search

Ohme home EV chargers

How much does charging at home really cost? Will it work with my energy tariff? And what happens if I have solar panels?

Charging an electric car at home costs far less than filling a tank with petrol, and an Ohme charger can time your charging to the cheapest hours, work with most suppliers and smart tariffs, and use your own solar power first.

A wall-mounted Ohme smart EV charger unit on an outside house wall beside a driveway, its charging cable running to a parked electric car, with a CT clamp wired at the fuse board connection nearby.
In this guide
  1. What It Is and Smart Charging
  2. Costs Per Charge
  3. Tariff Compatibility
  4. Solar Charging
  5. Using the App
  6. Installation and Lead Times
  7. About Ohme
  8. Awards and Flexibility Schemes
  9. Where It Falls Short

An Ohme home charger is a smart electric vehicle charging point that uses live data connections to find the cheapest and greenest windows in which to charge a car1. It is compatible with all Type 1 and Type 2 EVs, works with all energy suppliers, and integrates with most smart tariffs, including Intelligent Octopus Go2. Ohme states that with its smart tariff integration a charge can cost less than £5, against around £15 to £20 for charging a 60kWh battery on a typical tariff3.

The company describes itself as the UK and Ireland's largest home EV charging company and the fastest growing EV charging company in Europe, and is based in Cork4. Its chargers are compliant with the UK's new smart charger regulations and are solar charging compatible1. Ohme does not supply electricity: it states it will never bill a user directly for the energy used to charge the car, and uses tariff information only to work out when charging is cheaper and to estimate costs5.

For a household, the independence question is narrow but real. An Ohme charger does not generate anything, and it does not remove the need for a grid connection or an electricity supplier. What it changes is when the car draws power and, with solar, whether it draws from the roof or the grid. The scheduling, price caps and cost tracking all run through a manufacturer's app, so remote control depends on broadband and Ohme's own systems.

What an Ohme charger is and how smart charging works

Ohme's chargers are described by the company as dynamic, using live data to automatically provide drivers with the greenest and cheapest energy9. The mechanism is a data chain rather than a piece of hardware trick: the charger uses data connections to find the best charging windows, and the car communicates with Ohme and the grid so that charging happens when it is greener and cheaper6. Ohme states its chargers use live data from the grid and are compatible with the UK's most affordable energy tariffs, adjusting automatically to optimise charging cost10.

That is the difference between a smart charger and a plain one. Independent guidance from the CPA sets out the contrast: smart chargers can monitor real-time solar electricity production and adjust charging speed accordingly, drawing more or less as generation rises and falls, and switching between solar and grid supply depending on availability. Standard EV chargers draw electricity from the home supply without distinguishing between solar-generated power and grid electricity11.

The regulatory backdrop matters for anyone buying now. Ohme's chargers are stated to be compliant with the new smart charger regulations1, which is the baseline a UK household should expect of any charger sold today. The practical effect is that the charger can be told to shift load away from peak hours, which is what makes the tariff integration meaningful rather than decorative.

FeatureSmart charger (Ohme)Standard charger
Solar monitoringAdjusts speed to real-time generation11Draws from home supply regardless of source11
Supply switchingSwitches between solar and grid11No distinction between solar and grid11
Tariff integrationReads time bands, schedules into cheap windows2None stated
Smart charger regulationsCompliant1Not stated
An Ohme home EV charger mounted on a dark wooden wall with a woman and car blurred in the background
An Ohme home EV charger mounted on a dark wooden wall with a woman and car blurred in the background. Image: Ohme

Costs: under £5 a charge on a smart tariff, £15 to £20 on a typical one

A person plugging a charging cable into a black Ohme wall-mounted EV charger on a white exterior wall
A home EV charger on an outside wall Image: Ohme

The running cost figures come from Ohme and are stated per charge rather than per mile. On a typical tariff, charging a 60kWh battery costs around £15 to £20. With Ohme's smart tariff integration, the same charge can cost less than £5, or as little as £5 to £83. Ohme puts the annual effect for most EV drivers at £500 or more in savings each year from charging smarter6.

Independent figures sit in the same territory but are not identical. The Energy Saving Trust gives home charging with an EV tariff or other time-of-use tariff, typically requiring a smart meter, at £8 per full charge12. E.ON Next, an energy supplier, states that on a smart tariff it costs £7.88 on average to fully charge an EV, with an average cost per 100 miles of £3.9413. The documents differ on the exact figure, and the spread reflects different assumptions about battery size, tariff and charging behaviour rather than a dispute about the principle.

The hardware cost is separate. Which? puts buying and installing a home EV charger at typically £500 to £1,20014. Independent guidance on slower chargers gives typical costs of £250 to £500 for a slow charger installation15. Ohme does not publish a list price for its chargers in the material available, so an Ohme quote is installer-quoted and should be read as such.

Cost itemFigureSource
Charge on smart tariff, 60kWhless than £5, or £5 to £8Ohme3
Charge on typical tariff, 60kWharound £15 to £20Ohme3
Full charge, EV or time-of-use tariff£8Energy Saving Trust12
Full charge, smart tariff£7.88 averageE.ON Next13
Cost per 100 miles, smart tariff£3.94 averageE.ON Next13
Charger plus installationtypically £500 to £1,200Which?14
Slow charger installation£250 to £500Electricity North West15

Tariff and supplier compatibility: all suppliers, most smart tariffs

Ohme's compatibility claim is broad and repeated across its product pages: compatible with all energy suppliers, and integrating with most smart tariffs including Intelligent Octopus Go2. The company's press material goes further, describing its dynamic chargers as compatible with any UK energy tariff including the UK's most affordable rates from Octopus and OVO10. An independent product page notes the Ohme Home Pro as one of the only chargers which can integrate with both Octopus and OVO's smart tariffs16.

The distinction between supplier compatibility and tariff integration is worth holding on to. Any charger can be plugged into any supplier's supply, because the electricity is the same. What Ohme adds is the ability to read a tariff's time bands and schedule charging into the cheap ones automatically, which is what the price cap feature in the app is for17. Ohme states its chargers connect with all electricity tariffs, including new EV type of use and off-peak plans18.

For a household, this is a partial independence. The charger does not lock a home to one supplier, which is a genuine advantage over hardware tied to a single energy company's tariff. But the smart scheduling depends on the tariff data being available and on the app working, so the household remains dependent on a supplier, a meter and a manufacturer's platform to get the cheap rate. Where a supplier changes its tariff structure, the integration has to follow.

Solar charging and prioritising your own generated energy

Ohme states plainly that its chargers let you prioritise self-generated energy, so you can charge greener and cheaper and make the most of a solar setup1. Solar charging compatibility is listed as a feature across the product pages2. This is the point at which an EV charger stops being purely a load and starts being a way of absorbing generation that would otherwise be exported.

The mechanism, as independent guidance describes it, is that a smart charger monitors real-time solar production and adjusts charging speed accordingly, switching seamlessly between solar and grid supply depending on availability11. A standard charger cannot do this: it draws from the home supply without distinguishing solar from grid electricity11.

In practice the limit is the size of the array against the size of the car battery. A domestic solar system generating a few kilowatts will charge a car slowly, and on a cloudy day the charger will fall back to the grid. Solar charging is therefore a supplement to grid charging rather than a replacement for it, and the household still needs a grid connection for the days and seasons when generation is low. What it does deliver is a genuine reduction in the amount of imported electricity a car consumes over a year, and a use for midday generation that might otherwise be exported at a lower rate.

An isometric view of a house with a rooftop solar array, an EV charger on the front wall, and an electric car on the driveway connected by a charging cable running from the charger down to the car's port.
Smart chargers can vary charging speed to follow solar generation rather than drawing steadily from the grid. Image: Illustration

The app: schedules, price caps, cost tracking and carbon savings

A hand holding a smartphone showing the Ohme EV charging app settings screen
Using the app to set charging schedules Image: Ohme

The Ohme app is the control layer. Ohme describes it as putting the user in charge, from setting schedules and price caps to tracking costs, carbon savings and charge history1. Features listed include setting up routines, scheduling one-off charging sessions, applying a price cap in price per kWh, and tracking energy costs and consumption6. Charging sessions can be started, stopped and scheduled, with one-off schedules for a desired charge and departure time2.

The usage centre tracks smart charging, CO2 and solar savings, and provides a detailed history of each charging session with estimated costs based on your energy tariff18. Energy monitoring covers car charging costs and every kWh used2. The price cap feature is described as maximising off-peak charging savings within a set price18, and Ohme states the app will only charge at the cheapest times when a cap is set18.

Two operational details are worth knowing. Ohme uses tariff information to estimate the cost of charging sessions and to enable features such as the price cap5. And where more than one vehicle is involved, Ohme will adjust its charging schedule to match the EV's battery size and maximum charging speed, and the selected vehicle can be changed after plugging in, with the schedule recalculated to the new vehicle's specifications19.

The dependence here is the clearest one the product creates. Scheduling, price caps, cost history and carbon reporting all live in a manufacturer's app, and the charger's smart behaviour is only as good as the tariff data behind it. Local charging continues without the app, but the intelligence does not.

Installation: survey, lead times and what a standard fit includes

Ohme states most installations are completed in one to two weeks, and that it can install even if the car has not arrived yet7. Standard installations are usually booked within one to two weeks20. Before a date is provided, the online home survey covering your home, your energy usage and your installation requirements must be completed8. The eligibility check takes about two minutes and the online home survey about ten minutes20.

On the day, Ohme states the installation will take around four hours8, though one page gives a standard fit as up to three hours20 and another as two to three hours3. The engineer arrives within a window provided on the installation date, and the work is carried out by an Ohme approved installation partner8. Power is turned off for a short while during the work8. Lead time varies with engineer availability in your area and the complexity of the installation8.

The standard fit is defined. It includes mounting the charger, up to 15 metres of cabling, connection to your fuse board, circuit protection, a CT clamp and app setup, plus testing and certification7. The installation certificate is ready around three to five working days afterwards7. Ohme states it registers the installation with your local District Network Operator so you do not have to7, and that providing your MPAN allows Ohme and its installation partners to assess the electrical setup, ensure compliance with local regulations and notify the DNO21.

StageDetailSource
Eligibility checkabout 2 minutesOhme20
Online home surveyabout 10 minutesOhme20
Booking to installationusually 1 to 2 weeksOhme7
Installation dayaround 4 hours (other pages: up to 3, or 2 to 3)Ohme8
Certificate issued3 to 5 working days afterOhme7

Where a standard installation is not enough, the cost changes. OVO, which sells an installation service, states that prices include a standard installation and that additional work identified by the survey would be included in the quote at additional cost. Its standard installation conditions require existing electrical connections and protections to be in good condition, all required main protective bonding to be installed and adequately sized before installation, and no groundworks, civil works, electrical remedial works or other trades needed24.

An installer kneeling at an open domestic consumer unit inside the home, fitting a dedicated protective device on the din rail and routing a new EV charger circuit cable into the enclosure, with a small CT clamp clipped around a supply conductor nearby.
A standard fit includes connection to the fuse board, circuit protection and a CT clamp. Image: Illustration

Who Ohme is: company background, partnerships and market position

Ohme describes itself as the UK and Ireland's largest home EV charging company and the fastest growing EV charging company in Europe, and is based in Cork4. It states it is the UK's largest home EV charging company and the fastest growing EV charging company in Europe25. These are the company's own characterisations of its market position rather than independently verified rankings.

The partnership list is long and spans several vehicle makers. Ohme is the exclusive home EV charging partner for XPENG UK25, the preferred EV charging partner across Kia UK's PBV Centres for commercial vehicles10, and the official charger provider for the Volkswagen Group in the UK26. It is also the official EV charging partner for the Energy House 2.0 house of the future project26. In Northern Ireland, a Ford partnership is among the announcements the company has made4.

The most relevant partnership for a UK householder is with smart UK, which chose Ohme as its new and exclusive official home EV charging partner. Under that agreement smart will recommend Ohme chargers to customers who need a home charging solution, with chargers available to view in smart retailers and Ohme providing charger, installation, retailer training and support27.

For independence, the company structure matters less than the platform. Ohme is a charger maker and software provider, not an energy supplier, so it does not sit between a household and its electricity. What it does sit between is the household and the scheduling intelligence, and the partnerships mean the charger is often bought through a car maker or a retailer rather than direct.

Awards, trials and what the flexibility schemes pay

A woman plugging a charging cable into a blue Volkswagen ID.5 electric car on a driveway, next to a wall-mounted black Ohme home EV charger
An electric car charging at home Image: Ohme

Ohme holds awards on both sides of the tariff question. The two are not ranked against each other here, and both are the company's own listings of awards it has received.

The wider context is flexibility, which is the mechanism that makes smart charging pay. FlexAssure, an independent flexibility assurance scheme, gives a worked example of a household reward of £8.40 in a month from energy flexibility28. That is a single illustrative figure rather than a forecast, and it shows the scale: flexibility payments are a modest supplement to the tariff saving, not a substitute for it.

Government support exists on the workplace side rather than the home side. The workplace charging scheme offers funding to employers for EV charging facilities29. For homes, the grant landscape has changed over time, and the material available does not set out a current domestic grant that an Ohme installation would qualify for, so any grant position should be checked against the scheme rules in force at the time of purchase.

The honest summary for a household is that the money comes from three places: the off-peak tariff rate, the solar the car absorbs instead of exporting, and small flexibility payments. None of them removes the standing charge, the grid connection or the supplier relationship. What an Ohme charger does is make the car a controllable load, which is the precondition for all three.

Where an Ohme charger falls short

The limits are worth stating as firmly as the benefits. An Ohme charger generates nothing. It cannot charge a car without a grid connection or, at minimum, a solar array and battery large enough to cover the load. It does not remove the standing charge, the meter or the supplier, and it does not insulate a household from tariff changes.

The smart features depend on systems outside the home. Scheduling, price caps, cost tracking and carbon reporting run through the Ohme app, and the charger's tariff integration depends on tariff data being available to it5. Where the vehicle data connection fails, Ohme's own guidance is to unplug and re-plug the cable, then unpair and re-pair, and if that does not resolve it, to continue using the charger as a smart charger without the API integration by selecting Unpair my EV and then Unpair now, adjusting the charge amount on the Charging page rather than meeting a target30. That is a workable fallback, but it is a reduction in function.

Installation is not universal either. A standard fit assumes existing electrical connections and protections in good condition, adequate main protective bonding, and no groundworks or remedial electrical work24. Where those conditions are not met, the quote changes. And the DNO notification threshold of 13.8 kVA Maximum Demand means some homes need the network operator involved before connection23, which Ohme handles on the customer's behalf7.

For a household weighing energy independence, the position is this: an Ohme charger is a load-shifting device, not a supply. It makes a car cheaper to run and better able to absorb self-generated solar, and it keeps the household free to change supplier. It leaves the household dependent on the grid, on a supplier, on broadband and on a manufacturer's app for the features that deliver the saving. A comparison with another UK charger brand is at Ohme vs Pod Point, and the wider market is covered in Home EV Charger Manufacturers.

Sources30 cited
  1. Ohme home EV chargers, Ohme, 2026
  2. Ohme product range, Ohme, 2026
  3. Smart charging FAQs, Ohme, 2025
  4. Ford and Ohme partnership in Northern Ireland, Ohme, 2026
  5. How do I set my tariff in the Ohme app, Ohme, 2026
  6. New to EVs, Ohme, 2026
  7. What to look for when buying a home EV charger, Ohme, 2026
  8. What to expect on your installation day, Ohme, 2025
  9. How our chargers work, Ohme, 2026
  10. Kia PBV and Ohme, Ohme, 2026
  11. Can solar panels charge electric cars, CPA, 2026
  12. Electric vehicles: debunking myths, Energy Saving Trust, 2025
  13. EV charger grants, E.ON Next, 2026
  14. Electric car charging at home, Which?, 2026
  15. Electric vehicles for home charging, Electricity North West, 2026
  16. Home electric vehicle chargers, Carwow, 2026
  17. Ohme ePod, Ohme, 2026
  18. Ohme app, Ohme, 2025
  19. How can I charge multiple vehicles, Ohme, 2025
  20. Can I get a home charger installed before my new EV arrives, Ohme, 2026
  21. Frequently asked questions about MPAN and MPRN numbers, Ohme, 2026
  22. Electric vehicle charger installation and maintenance, NICEIC, 2025
  23. Electric vehicle charging installations FAQs, IET, 2026
  24. EV charger installation questions, OVO Energy, 2026
  25. XPENG and Ohme partnership, Ohme, 2026
  26. Ohme EV charger house of future, Ohme, 2023
  27. Ohme smart UK partnership, Ohme, 2026
  28. What is flexibility, FlexAssure, 2026
  29. Electric vehicle charging, SMMT, 2025
  30. My car's battery status isn't showing in the Ohme app, Ohme, 2026

Questions

Answers here, and more on their own pages.

How do I find my MPAN number for an Ohme installation?

Your MPAN is the supply number on your electricity bill or from your supplier. Ohme asks for it during the installation process so it and its installation partners can assess the electrical setup, ensure compliance with local regulations and notify the District Network Operator about the installation. Once provided, Ohme adds it to your account and proceeds with the steps needed to prepare for the charger installation.

How long does an Ohme charger installation take from booking to completion?

Ohme states most installations are completed in one to two weeks, and that standard installations are usually booked within one to two weeks. The visit itself takes around four hours on installation day, though one Ohme page gives a standard fit as up to three hours and another as two to three hours. Lead time varies with engineer availability in your area and the complexity of the installation.

Can an Ohme charger be fitted before my electric car arrives?

Yes. Ohme states it can install even if your car has not arrived yet, and that most installations are completed in one to two weeks. Before a date is provided, the online home survey covering your home, your energy usage and your installation requirements must be completed. The charger is compatible with all Type 1 and Type 2 EVs, so the vehicle can follow later.

Does Ohme bill me for the energy my car uses?

No. Ohme states it will never bill you directly for the energy used to charge the car. Tariff information is used only to work out when it is cheaper to charge and to estimate charge costs. The electricity itself is supplied and billed by your chosen energy supplier under your own tariff, and Ohme's chargers are compatible with all energy suppliers.

Can Ohme pre-heat or pre-cool my car before a scheduled charge?

The Ohme app supports scheduling, price caps, cost tracking and charge history, and Ohme states it adjusts its charging schedule to match your EV's battery size and maximum charging speed. Pre-conditioning of the cabin is a vehicle function rather than a charger function, and the material available does not state that Ohme controls it. Check your car's own app or manual for pre-heating.

What happens if my Ohme charger keeps faulting after installation?

Ohme's guidance for a lost vehicle data connection is to unplug and re-plug the charging cable, then unpair and re-pair. If that does not resolve it, Ohme recommends continuing to use the charger as a smart charger without the API integration, by selecting Unpair my EV and then Unpair now, and adjusting the charge amount on the Charging page rather than meeting a target. Installation concerns go to the on-site engineer or the Customer Success Team.

When will I receive the electrical certificate for my Ohme installation?

Ohme states the installation certificate is ready around three to five working days afterwards. The certificate matters because an EV charger must be installed in line with the current edition of BS 7671, the national standard for electrical installations. Keep it with your property paperwork, as it evidences the circuit protection and testing carried out on the new dedicated supply.

Can Ohme contact the DNO on my behalf?

Yes. Ohme states it registers the installation with your local District Network Operator so you do not have to. This matters because independent guidance notes that where the Maximum Demand of the whole customer connection exceeds 13.8 kVA, the DNO must be contacted prior to connection. Providing your MPAN allows Ohme and its installation partners to assess the electrical setup and notify the DNO.

Do EV owners charge at peak times?What EV charger capacities does Growatt offer?The Easee Charger Safety Ruling and What It Meant for UK OwnersCan I install an EV home charger myself?Am I eligible for an EV tariff?Should I charge my EV at night or at midday when solar output is high?