In this guide
Growatt's MIN range is the single-phase workhorse of its residential line, and the MIC range is the smaller sibling. The MIN 2500-6000TL-X/X2(Pro) covers a 2.5 to 6 kW power range, and the MIN TL-XH/XH2 series is described by the maker as its most popular single-phase hybrids for homes: compact, quiet, and ready for a high-voltage battery and an emergency power supply1.
The distinction that matters most when buying is between the plain on-grid models and the hybrid XH2 models. The MIN 5000 is a high-efficiency on-grid inverter without energy storage support, so it cannot take a battery at all3. The MIN 2500-XH2 and MIN 4600-XH2 are hybrid inverters, and Growatt states that a high-voltage battery can be added at any point without replacing the inverter2.
The MIN range at a glance: TL-X, TL-XA and TL-XH2
Growatt splits the MIN family three ways, and the split is about what the inverter is allowed to connect to rather than about power output alone.
The MIN 2500-5000TL-XA is listed as an AC-coupled inverter, which means it works on the alternating current side of a system rather than taking the panels' DC directly6. That suits retrofitting to an existing array or adding to a system where the DC side is already spoken for. The MIN 7000-10000TL-X/X2 is listed as a residential PV inverter, taking the range above the 6 kW ceiling of the smaller models7. The MIN 2500-6000TL-XH2 is listed as a battery-ready inverter, and this is the hybrid branch of the family1.
The naming is worth reading carefully. TL-X and TL-XA models are grid-tied only. TL-XH2 models carry the battery interface. A household that buys a TL-X model expecting to add storage later will find it cannot be done on that unit, because the on-grid MIN 5000 is explicitly described as having no energy storage support3.
The MIC range sits below the MIN. Growatt lists the MIC 750-3300TL-X/X2(Pro) as a residential PV inverter, and the UK distributor range starts with a 750W inverter described as suitable for three-panel systems, with twin tracker options across the range8. For a small array, a garden room or a first step into solar, the MIC is the smaller entry point; the MIN is the range that scales to a family house.

MIC and MIN: which range fits which home

The choice between MIC and MIN comes down to array size and whether storage is planned.
The MIC 750-3300TL-X/X2(Pro) is listed as a residential PV inverter, which suits a small array, a few panels on a shed or garage roof, or a system where export is limited6. At the bottom of that range the 750W model is described as suited to 3-panel systems, and the MIC 2500TL-X is rated at 2.5 kW. The MIN range runs from 2.5 kW to 6 kW, which covers the ordinary domestic span from a one or two-bedroom flat to a larger family house1. Growatt's own residential solution material shows the MIN 5000TL-X inverter in a home installation, which illustrates the scale the range is built for9.
For context on sizing generally, guidance published by another manufacturer suggests that most homeowners find a 3000W to 5000W inverter is the sweet spot for a typical home backup system10. That is a different maker's view and not a Growatt specification, but it sits comfortably inside the MIN range's 2.5 to 6 kW span.
Where the MIC and MIN differ most is expandability. A MIC is a straightforward grid-tied inverter. A MIN in XH2 form is a hybrid that can be turned into a storage system later. If a battery is anywhere in the plan, the XH2 branch is the one that keeps that option open, and the hybrid inverter route is the one that avoids a second box on the wall. Households weighing the two approaches generally compare a string inverter against a hybrid, and the trade-off is cost now against flexibility later.
MIN TL-XH/XH2 hybrid models: 2.5 to 6 kW with battery and backup
The XH2 models are the part of the range that changes what a household can do with its own generation. Growatt describes the MIN TL-XH/XH2 series as its most popular single-phase hybrids for homes, compact and quiet, ready for a high-voltage battery and an emergency power supply2.
The battery side is deliberately open-ended. Growatt states that the high-voltage battery can be added at any point without replacing the inverter, and that the battery interface makes the unit easily extendable into a storage system in future without extra device or retrofit cost4. The MIN 2500-XH2 and MIN 4600-XH2 are both listed as compatible with the ARK 2.5H-A2 and the APX 5.0P-B1, both high-voltage packs2. The MIN 2500-6000TL-XH2 series is listed with the ARK XH battery1. Larger ARK battery sets are listed as compatible with Growatt MIN-XH and MID-XH hybrid inverters11.
Backup is a separate purchase. Growatt lists the SYN 50-XH-10 back-up box as the hardware that keeps selected circuits supplied when the grid fails, and states it is designed to work with Growatt XH-series hybrid inverters, matched to a specific inverter series4. It is not a whole-house supply: it covers chosen circuits, and it needs a battery behind it. The larger three-phase MID 20KTL3-XH uses a different box, the SYN-100-XH-3013.
The MIN 6000-XH2 is rated at 6 kW of AC power and carries two independent MPPT trackers14. The MIN 2500-XH2 also has two independent MPPT trackers4. Two trackers matter on a roof with more than one aspect, because each can run at its own voltage rather than being dragged to a compromise.
Specifications: efficiency, voltages and currents

The headline efficiency figures are high, and they vary by power rating within the same family. Growatt lists the MIN 5000 at a maximum efficiency of 98.2% for the 2.5, 3 and 3.6 kW variants and 98.4% for the 4.2 to 6 kW variants3. The MIN 2500-XH2 and MIN 4600-XH2 are both listed at 98.2 to 98.4%2.
Voltages and currents set what the inverter will accept from the array. The MIN 5000 has a start-up voltage of 100V, an MPPT voltage range of 80 to 500V on the 2.5 and 3 kW variants and 80 to 550V on the 3.6 to 6 kW variants, a maximum DC voltage of 500V on the smaller pair and 550V on the larger, and a maximum input current of 13.5A per MPPT3. The MIN 2500-XH2 lists a start-up voltage of 100V, an MPPT voltage range of 70 to 500V or 70 to 550V, and a maximum DC voltage of 500 to 550V4. The MIN 4600-XH2 lists the same 70 to 500V or 70 to 550V MPPT range2.
| Specification | MIN 5000 | MIN 2500-XH2 | MIN 4600-XH2 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Type | On-grid, no storage3 | Hybrid4 | Hybrid2 |
| Max efficiency | 98.2% (2.5/3/3.6kW), 98.4% (4.2-6kW)3 | 98.2-98.4%4 | 98.2-98.4%2 |
| Start-up voltage | 100V3 | 100V4 | Not stated |
| MPPT voltage range | 80-500V / 80-550V3 | 70-500V / 70-550V4 | 70-500V / 70-550V2 |
| Max DC voltage | 500V / 550V3 | 500-550V4 | Not stated |
| Max input current per MPPT | 13.5A3 | Not stated | Not stated |
| MPPT trackers | Not stated | 24 | Not stated |
| Topology | Transformerless3 | Not stated | Not stated |
The practical reading is that the smaller MIN models want a shorter string, and the larger ones accept a longer one. A designer matching panels to the inverter works from the MPPT window and the maximum DC voltage, not from the efficiency headline.
Physical build: size, weight, cooling and IP65 rating
The MIN is built to go on a wall, inside or out. Growatt lists the MIN 5000 with an IP65 ingress protection rating and states that this allows indoor and outdoor installation3. The MIN 2500-XH2 carries the same IP65 rating4. The wider Growatt inverter range is described as offering an IP65 rating8.
IP65 is protection against dust ingress and water jets. It is not a claim of waterproofing against immersion, and it does not remove the need for sensible siting: a unit in full afternoon sun runs hotter than one in shade, and a unit on a north-facing external wall is exposed to weather that an internal wall is not.
Cooling differs across the range. The MIN 2500-XH2 is listed with natural convection cooling, which means no fan4. That is the reason the noise figure is low and the reason there is no fan bearing to wear. The MIN 5000 is listed at a noise level of 35 dB(A) or less3. For comparison within the same maker's range, the three-phase MOD 4000TL3-HU, MOD 5000TL3-HU and MOD 11KTL3-HU are all listed at 29 dB(A) or less15. The MIN sits between the quietest three-phase models and the larger low-voltage hybrid units.
Weight is a point of disagreement in the published material. Growatt's own product pages for the MIN 5000, the MIN 2500-XH2 and the MIN 4600-XH2 give two different figures, 10.8 kg and 13.20 kg, and the documents do not resolve which applies to which variant. The weight of the exact model matters when choosing a wall and mounting position, and the two published figures differ.

Monitoring with ShinePhone and ShineServer
Every MIN model in the range is monitored through the same platform. The MIN 5000 and the MIN 2500-XH2 both list ShinePhone and ShineServer over Wi-Fi as their monitoring method3. The same pairing appears across the wider Growatt range, including the MOD 4000TL3-HU, MOD 6000TL3-HU, MOD 11KTL3-HU, MOD 5000TL3-HU, WIT 4kW-HU and the SPF 6000ES15.
ShinePhone is described as a system monitoring app for users, with simple Wi-Fi configuration20. The Shine WiLAN-X2 dongle is designed to work with Growatt inverters and storage systems that support ShinePhone and ShineServer monitoring, and allows production, consumption and battery state to be monitored remotely in the app and the portal21. Where a battery is fitted, the app and portal show state of charge, charge and discharge power and operating history, with fault notifications, read through the connected inverter22.
This is the clearest dependence the range creates. The inverter itself keeps working without an internet connection, and the array keeps generating. What stops is the remote view: the app, the portal, the history and the fault notifications all run through Growatt's servers and a home broadband connection. A household that wants the monitoring has to accept that the data sits with the manufacturer, and that the Wi-Fi dongles used with this platform work on the 2.4GHz band only, which is a common cause of an inverter showing as offline in the app.
Warranty: 10 years European service cover

Growatt lists a 10 year European service warranty, per the manufacturer, on the MIN 5000, the MIN 6000-XH2, the MIN 2500-XH2 and the MIN 4600-XH23. The same 10 year European service warranty, on the manufacturer's terms, is listed across the storage side of the range, including several ARK battery sets, the APX 5.0H module, an APX battery set and an ALP kit11.
Two things are worth separating. The first is that the term is described as a European service warranty rather than a UK-specific one, so the service route runs through Growatt's European operation. The second is that the warranty is stated per the manufacturer's terms, which means the conditions sit in a document the householder should read rather than in the headline figure.
The warranty is also tied to the equipment being installed and maintained as the maker requires. Growatt's European distributor has published guidance on updating inverter firmware safely, with warnings about warranty and the need for qualified personnel, and separate troubleshooting articles for Error 203 (PV isolation low) and Error 300 (AC voltage out of range)25. Firmware work done outside those terms is the kind of thing that puts a warranty at risk.
Cost and UK availability
Growatt lists the MIN 5000, the MIN 2500-XH2 and the MOD 6000TL3-HU as available at Growatt.tech3. That is the maker's own availability statement, and it does not by itself tell a householder what a UK installer will charge.
The published UK price figure is supply-only. One UK distributor lists the Growatt MIN 5000TL-X inverter with AFCI and DC protection at £397.945. That is the inverter alone, not an installed system, and the listing does not state the VAT position, so it should be read as a quoted figure rather than a confirmed VAT-inclusive price.
Other MIN prices appear in distributor listings but the figures conflict and are unresolved. The MIN 3000TL-XH hybrid is listed at both £327.71 and £393.25; the MIN 3000TL-X with AFCI and DC protection at both £316.01 and £379.21; the MIN 2500TL-X with DC switch at both £358.14 and £298.45; and the MIN 3600TL-X with AFCI and DC protection at both £327.71 and £393.25. The MIC 2000TL X is listed at both £199.00 plus VAT and £173.00 plus VAT. Where two figures exist for the same model, both are given here and the documents do not settle which applies.
Installed cost is a different matter and is not published. It depends on the array, the mounting, the inverter model, whether a battery or back-up box is added, and the labour involved. Quotes come from installers after a survey. For the wider picture on what a system costs and how the numbers stack up, see how much solar panels cost in the UK and solar panel savings and payback.
What the MIN does for a household's energy independence

The honest position is that a MIN inverter, like any grid-tied inverter, keeps a home connected to the grid. It converts what the panels produce, it can store surplus in a battery on the XH2 models, and it can keep selected circuits running through a back-up box when the grid fails. It does not take a house off the grid, and it does not remove the need for a supplier, a meter and a connection.
What it does change is how much of a household's own generation stays in the house. The XH2 models let storage be added at any point without replacing the inverter, which means the decision to store rather than export can be deferred until the household knows what its export payments and its evening usage actually look like4. The back-up box adds a measure of resilience for chosen circuits, not for the whole house4.
The dependencies that remain are worth naming plainly. The system depends on the grid for reference voltage and for export. It depends on a supplier for the import side. The monitoring depends on home broadband, Growatt's servers and the ShinePhone app20. The warranty depends on the manufacturer's terms and its European service operation3. And the equipment itself depends on Growatt as a company continuing to support the platform.
For households comparing this range against others, the relevant comparisons are Growatt vs Solis, Fox ESS vs Growatt and SolaX vs Growatt. The wider context on how inverters fit into a system is in solar inverters explained, and the storage side is covered in adding battery storage to solar.
Sources25 cited
- MIN 2500-6000TL-XH2, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MIN 4600-XH2, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MIN 5000 TL-X 1 Phase Inverter, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MIN 2500-XH2, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MIN 5000TL-X inverter with AFCI and DC protection, TradeSparky, 2026-09-17
- MIN 2500-5000TL-XA, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- MIN 7000-10000TL-X/X2, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt inverters, Midsummer Wholesale, 2026-09-19
- Residential PV system, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt APX 5.0H 5kWh high-voltage battery module, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt ARK battery set 12.8kWh for XH, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt SYN 50-XH-10 back-up box, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MID 20KTL3-XH 20kW 3-phase inverter, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MIN 6000-XH2, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MOD 4000TL3-HU 4kW hybrid inverter, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MOD 11KTL3-HU 11kW hybrid inverter, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MOD 5000TL3-HU 5kW hybrid inverter, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MOD 6000TL3-HU 6kW hybrid inverter, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt SPF 6000ES Plus 6kW off-grid inverter, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt monitoring platform, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt Shine WiLAN-X2, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt ARK battery set 20.48kWh for SPH, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt ALP 20kWh battery kit for WIT/SPF, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt WIT 4kW-HU 4kW hybrid inverter, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt, Growatt, 2026-09-17

