Search

EVEC home EV chargers: range, specs and warranty

Which evec charger fits my car and my home? What does it cost to buy and run? Can I fit it myself or do I need someone to install it?

Charging speeds, warranty length, who can install it and how to get help sit alongside the full evec range, so you can weigh up the Veva and the VEC01 before you buy.

A close-up of a compact untethered home EV wall charger with a Type 2 socket mounted on an outside house wall beside a driveway, with a separate charging cable plugged into the socket and running toward a parked electric car at the edge of the frame.
In this guide
  1. About evec
  2. Charger Range
  3. Power and Specs
  4. Warranty and Installation
  5. Installation Service
  6. Delivery and Registration
  7. Cost and Independence
  8. Market Position
  9. Support and Help

evec is a British EV charger maker founded in April 2022, selling a domestic range built around a Type 2 connector and a 7.4kW single-phase output1. The company's own account of its growth is that revenue rose from £500k in 2022 to £4 million in 2025, with 174% year-on-year sales growth2. Its chargers are sold both as hardware alone and with installation bundled in, and the warranty is a 3-year parts and labour guarantee that depends on registration within 30 days of delivery3.

The headline numbers for a household are these. A 7.4kW untethered VEC01 charger is listed at £349.99 including VAT, the same unit with installation included at £789.99 including VAT, and a version with installation plus a 5-year extended warranty at £889.99 including VAT1. Every charger in the range uses a Type 2 connector, the UK and European standard, and each single-phase unit includes built-in Wi-Fi1.

What an evec charger does for energy independence is real but partial. It moves the fuel for motoring from petrol or diesel to electricity, and it allows that electricity to be bought on a time-of-use tariff or drawn from a home solar system. It does not remove the household from the grid, from an electricity supplier, or from the manufacturer's warranty terms and registration process. Most home chargers are "fast chargers" (typically 7kW), which can fully charge an average EV overnight, which is why the home unit matters more than any other piece of charging equipment a household buys4.

Who evec is and what the company does

evec was created in April 2022 with what it describes as a single mission: to break down barriers to EV adoption by making EV charging accessible and affordable2. That positioning explains the shape of the product line. Rather than competing at the premium end of the wallbox market, evec sells a small number of single-phase domestic chargers, offers them with or without installation, and prices the hardware at the lower end of what a UK home charger costs.

The company's own figures put revenue at £500k in 2022 rising to £4 million in 2025, with 174% year-on-year sales growth2. Those are maker-reported numbers rather than audited accounts, and they describe a young business rather than an established one. For a household, the relevant question is not growth but continuity: a charger is a piece of fixed electrical equipment with a warranty and, potentially, a software service behind it, so the age and scale of the maker bear on what happens in year four or year eight.

The range is deliberately narrow. Every charger uses a Type 2 connector, the UK and European standard for electric vehicle charging, and each single-phase unit includes built-in Wi-Fi for connectivity1. The commercial side of the business extends beyond homes: evec lists secure access, load balancing and smart features for managing multiple chargers, aimed at sites running more than one unit1. That matters to a household only indirectly, in that the same firmware and app platform serves both markets.

The company has also taken public positions on policy. Its managing director criticised the September 2023 announcement delaying net zero commitments from 2030 to 2035, which places evec among the makers that have argued for a faster transition rather than a slower one. For a buyer, that is context rather than specification.

The range: Veva smart home charger and the VEC01

The domestic line is built around the VEC01, sold as an untethered 7.4kW unit compatible with both Type 1 and Type 2 vehicles, single phase1. Untethered means the charger has a socket rather than a fixed cable, so the household uses the cable that came with the car or a separate one. That choice affects cost, tidiness and convenience, and it is covered in more detail in tethered vs untethered EV charger.

The VEC01 appears in three commercial forms on evec's own product pages, and the differences are about what is bundled rather than what is inside the box1:

ProductWhat is includedPrice including VAT
7.4kW EV Charger, Type 1 and Type 2, single phase, untetheredCharger only£349.991
7.4kW Domestic EV Charger with Installation Included, untethered, single phaseCharger plus installation£789.991
7.4kW Domestic EV Charger with Installation and 5-year extended warrantyCharger, installation, extended warranty£889.991

The installation-included VEC01 is listed at £789.99 including VAT on the product page, and separately at £799.98 including delivery. Both figures come from the same maker page dated 18 September 2026, and the difference is not resolved in the material available, so a buyer comparing quotes may see either.

The Veva smart home charger sits alongside the VEC01 in the domestic range. evec's charger pages describe the range as offering secure access, load balancing and smart features for managing multiple chargers, which is the functionality set the Veva draws on1. Load balancing matters where the charger shares a supply with an electric shower, an oven or a heat pump, and it is explained in load management and load balancing.

A black evec wall-mounted EV charger unit with green logo on a white background
A black evec wall-mounted EV charger unit with green logo on a white background. Image: evec

Power and specifications: why most home chargers are 7kW

A sage-green evec electric vehicle wall charger shown at an angle on a white background
A wall mounted home EV charger Image: evec

evec's single-phase chargers range from 3.7kW to 7.4kW, with an internal switch to move between the two depending on the demand of the property1. That switch is the practical answer to a common constraint: a home with a single-phase supply and a modest main fuse may not be able to support the full 7.4kW alongside everything else running at once, and derating the charger to 3.7kW is one way to stay within the supply.

The wider market context explains why 7kW is the default. Independent guidance describes home chargers as tending to be slower, usually around 7kW5, and states plainly that the standard power rating for a home charger is 7kW6. Most home chargers are either rated at 3 kW or 7 kW8. The reason is the supply rather than the equipment: most UK homes have a single-phase electricity supply, and 7kW is the natural fit, while higher outputs generally require a three-phase supply.

What that means in practice is charging speed. A 7kW charger adds roughly the energy a typical electric car needs overnight, which is why home charging dominates: most home chargers are "fast chargers" (typically 7kW), which can fully charge an average EV overnight4. The relationship between power, battery size and time is covered in EV charging speeds and times.

The specification points a household should check before buying are the connector, the phase, the output and the connectivity. On the evec range, the connector is Type 2 across the board, the units are single phase, the output is switchable between 3.7kW and 7.4kW, and Wi-Fi is built in1. Type 2 is the standard for UK and European charging, and the difference between it and the DC connectors used at rapid chargers is explained in Type 2 vs CCS.

Warranty, installation and who can self-install

evec's warranty is a 3-year parts and labour guarantee, and it is conditional in ways that matter3. The product is guaranteed against defects in materials or workmanship, with defective parts repaired or replaced at the maker's discretion. Registration must be completed online within 30 days of the delivery date, and the 30-day period is calculated from delivery, not from installation3. Products registered outside that window receive a 12-month parts and labour guarantee only3.

The conditions on installation are explicit. The warranty requires that a suitably qualified professional has installed the charger, that installation was carried out in accordance with the instructions and current legislation, and that no unauthorised person has attempted modification or repair, where an authorised person means an evec appointed professional3. The exclusions list is long and includes damage by transport, misuse or improper installation and assembly, use of parts not recommended by evec, routine maintenance and wear and tear, installation faults, consumables and cosmetic parts, second-hand or refurbished chargers, accidental damage, and damage from contact with unsuitable materials3.

Self-installation is therefore not a route the warranty supports, and it is not a route the regulations support either. Building regulations approval is always required when installing an EV home charger, and a competent and reputable installer should be used, with specific processes for notifying the local building control authority9. The approval produces a certificate proving the work complies with building regulations10. Independent guidance is consistent that the work should be done by a qualified and certified electrician11, by a registered electrician with experience in this type of installation12, and that installers need competence in the IET Code of Practice for Electric Vehicle Charging13. The charger must be installed in line with the current edition of BS 7671, the national standard for electrical installations5. The full process is set out in home EV charge point installation, and the self-install question is answered at can I install an EV home charger myself.

Does evec offer an installation service?

An isometric electrician in plain workwear drills and mounts a home EV chargepoint on the outside brick wall of a house, with a cable running from the unit into the wall and a drill and small tool bag on the ground beside them.
An installer fitting a home charger

Yes. evec sells chargers with installation included, and lists a premium install package that it says gets the charger installed in as little as a week, subject to location and availability2. The installation-included VEC01 is priced at £789.99 including VAT, and the version with installation and a 5-year extended warranty at £889.99 including VAT1.

That bundled approach differs from the more common pattern, where a household buys hardware and then obtains a separate quote from a local installer. Bundling makes the total easier to compare, but it also means the price covers a standard installation rather than whatever the property actually needs. Longer cable runs, a consumer unit upgrade, a garage supply or a three-phase conversion are the usual reasons a quote moves, and none of those is priced in the published figures.

Where a household prefers to arrange its own installer, the official route is to contact an installer approved by the Office for Zero Emission Vehicles to find out how much installation costs14. The planning portal recommends using a reputable company and ensuring the installer has the relevant qualifications10. For a charger that will be paired with solar or battery storage, independent guidance adds that compatibility between the charger, the solar system and any battery storage should be considered from the outset, and that the installer should have relevant experience15. That pairing is covered in charging an EV from solar panels.

Delivery, registration and the 30-day clock

The warranty clock starts at delivery, not at commissioning, and that is the single most consequential administrative detail in the evec terms3. A charger bought in advance of an installation date, or held while a consumer unit upgrade is arranged, is already partway through its registration window. Registration is by email to customer.services@evec.co.uk3.

The published material does not state a cut-off time for next-day dispatch, so no time can be given here. What is documented is the registration deadline of 30 days from the delivery date, and the consequence of missing it: a 12-month guarantee instead of 3 years3.

Two other timing points are worth noting. The premium install package is described as completing in as little as a week, subject to location and availability2. And the vecFLEX rewards scheme, which all vecGO chargers are eligible for, suffered a temporary onboarding outage on 9 March 2026 that caused login issues; evec confirmed the form issue was resolved the following day, 10 March 2026, as of 10:26 AM GMT2. The scheme is a grid rewards arrangement rather than a warranty matter, and it is discussed in smart charging, flexibility services and reward schemes.

Cost, growth and what owning an evec charger means for independence

A small isometric figure plugs a charging cable from a wall-mounted charger on the house drive into an electric car parked beside it at night, with a soft moon and dark sky indicating the cheap overnight charging window.
An electric car charging at home

The cost picture for a home charger in the UK is broad. Independent guidance puts a home EV charger at £500 to £1,200 to buy and install as of February 202616, and official guidance for Northern Ireland states that an EV charger can be up to £1,00017. evec's own prices sit inside that band: £349.99 for the untethered unit alone, £789.99 with installation, and £889.99 with installation and a 5-year extended warranty, all including VAT1.

The running cost side is where independence is won or lost. Energy UK lists electric vehicle chargers as saving £680 a year on a time-of-use tariff, where EV ownership is required18. That saving depends on the household having a tariff with a cheap overnight window and on the charger being able to schedule into it, which is why smart charging functionality matters more than the badge on the box. The tariff side is covered in EV energy tariffs and how they change home charging, and the running cost arithmetic in what it costs to charge an electric car at home.

There is also a property effect. Installing an EV charger could increase a property's value by between £3,000 and £5,000, according to the National Association of Property Buyers, depending on location, charger type and local public charging availability5. That is an estimate from a trade body rather than a measured transaction effect, and it is covered further in do electric car chargers increase your home's value.

What remains dependent is straightforward. An evec charger keeps the household connected to the grid and to an electricity supplier, and the smart features depend on a home broadband connection, the maker's servers and the maker's app. The warranty depends on registration within 30 days and on an approved installer having done the work. The fuel independence is real: electricity can come from a home solar array or a cheap overnight tariff in a way that petrol cannot. The infrastructure independence is not.

Where evec sits among more than 50 home charger makers

The UK home charging market is crowded. More than 50 manufacturers provide charging units suitable for EV charging at home6. Against that field, evec is a young British entrant with a narrow domestic range and a bundled installation offer, competing with established wallbox makers and with charger brands owned by energy suppliers and automotive groups.

The scale of the installed base explains why the market supports so many. There are estimated to be around 1 million home EV chargers in the UK as of July 202619. Public charging is a separate and much smaller part of the picture by volume, though it matters for anyone without off-street parking. For context on the public side, the South East had 16,881 chargers of all types as of August 202620, and 10,852 public chargers as of July 202519. Network operators include Be.EV, with 2,457 chargers across 589 locations, and FOR EV, with 155 chargers across 39 locations21. Those figures describe the public network rather than the home market, but they set the backdrop against which a household decides how much it needs to charge at home.

For a household choosing between makers, the useful comparison points are the connector, the output, the warranty length and conditions, the app and connectivity, and whether installation is bundled. evec's answers are Type 2, 3.7kW to 7.4kW switchable, 3 years with a 30-day registration condition, built-in Wi-Fi, and installation available as a bundle1. Other makers' answers differ, and the comparison pages linked from this site set them side by side without picking a winner.

Support channels and getting help with your charger

An electrician in plain work clothing stands at a household consumer unit with the door open, using a test instrument on the wiring inside, checking whether the home's electrical supply can support an EV charger before any fault is blamed on the charger itself.
An electrician checking the home wiring

Warranty registration and service contact run through email at customer.services@evec.co.uk3. The warranty terms set out what is covered, what is excluded, and the circumstances in which a service call fee applies3.

For faults that may not be the charger's, the first step recommended by network operators is to speak to the installer or electrician to check there is not a problem with the household's equipment23. SSEN recommends first speaking to an electrician or installer to see whether the home wiring can support an EV charger24. That ordering matters because a charger that trips or derates is often responding to a supply issue rather than failing itself.

Where the problem is a product safety matter rather than a fault, the pattern is different. On a recalled EV charging cable sold through a marketplace, the Electrical Safety First advice was to stop using it immediately and contact the retailer for further advice25. That is the general approach to a recalled charging product: stop, then go back to the seller.

Grant support has narrowed. The Electric Vehicle Homecharge Scheme is closed to new applications, ran from 2014 to 2022, funded 340,222 domestic charging device installations in the United Kingdom, and was replaced by the Electric Vehicle Chargepoint Grant26. The successor grant assists with the cost of installing an EV chargepoint29. For households without off-street parking, the electric vehicle pavement channels grant is provided by the LEVI support body30. The closed scheme is covered in the Electric Vehicle Homecharge Scheme, and the current grant in the Electric Vehicle Chargepoint Grant.

Planning rules vary by nation and by property. In England, exceptions to permitted development include listed buildings, conservation areas and world heritage sites, among other protected buildings and landscapes12. Where a charger is located in a designated area such as a conservation area, there are increased chances that an accepted application will carry conditions affecting the size, appearance and placement of the charger31. The position across the four nations is set out in planning permission for a home EV charge point.

Sources31 cited
  1. evec chargers product range, evec, 2026
  2. Fully installed, evec, 2026
  3. Warranty information, evec, 2026
  4. Electric car charging costs: all you need to know, Zapmap, 2026
  5. EV charger installation and maintenance, NICEIC, 2025
  6. Home charging guide, Zapmap, 2025
  7. Home charging guide, Zapmap, 2025
  8. Smart search: electric vehicle charging, Planning Portal, 2026
  9. Electric vehicles for home charging, Electricity North West, 2026
  10. Building regulations for electric vehicle charging, Planning Portal, 2026
  11. EV charging guide, Uswitch, 2026
  12. EV charger regulations in England: what's changed, NICEIC, 2026
  13. Section 722 EV charging complete guide, elec-mate, 2026
  14. Electric vehicle chargepoint installers, GOV.UK, 2026
  15. Can solar panels charge electric cars?, The CPA, 2026
  16. Electric car charging at home, Which?, 2026
  17. Electric vehicles, nidirect, 2026
  18. Clean heat: supporting low-income households, Energy UK, 2026
  19. EV charging statistics, Uswitch, 2025
  20. FOR EV network guide, Zapmap, 2026
  21. Be.EV network guide, Zapmap, 2026
  22. Nissan LEAF model charging, Zapmap, 2026
  23. Existing electricity supplies, SSEN, 2026
  24. Grid impacts of heat pumps, EVs and solar revealed, Energy Systems Catapult, 2025
  25. Integrating solar panels with EV charging, Uswitch, 2026
  26. Grant schemes for electric vehicle charging infrastructure, GOV.UK, 2026
  27. Electric Vehicle Charging Device Grant Scheme statistics, October 2024, GOV.UK, 2024
  28. Electric Vehicle Charging Device Grant Scheme statistics, July 2024, GOV.UK, 2024
  29. Voltage changes in your home or business, UK Power Networks, 2026
  30. Apply for the electric vehicle pavement channels grant, GOV.UK, 2025
  31. BSI Kitemark certification for EV charging, BSI, 2026

Questions

Answers here, and more on their own pages.

How do I contact evec support?

Warranty registration is handled by email at customer.services@evec.co.uk, and the same address is the route for service enquiries. Registration must be completed online within 30 days of the delivery date, and the delivery date, not the installation date, starts that clock. Products registered after the 30-day window receive a 12-month parts and labour guarantee instead of the standard 3-year cover.

Can I install an evec charger myself?

No. evec's warranty requires that a suitably qualified professional has installed the charger, in line with the instructions and current legislation, and that no unauthorised person has attempted modification or repair. Independent guidance is consistent: EV chargers should be installed by a registered electrician with relevant experience, working to BS 7671 and the IET Code of Practice, with building regulations approval always required.

What is the cut-off time for next-day delivery?

The published material does not state a cut-off time for next-day dispatch. What it does set is a warranty deadline: registration must be completed within 30 days of the delivery date. Because the guarantee period runs from delivery rather than from commissioning, a charger that sits in its box before installation is already consuming its cover.

Does evec offer an installation service?

Yes. evec sells chargers with installation included, and lists a premium install package that it says can complete the work in as little as a week, subject to location and availability. Installation pricing is bundled into the product price rather than quoted separately, and the warranty conditions on who may carry out the work still apply.

What happened to the Electric Vehicle Homecharge Scheme?

The Electric Vehicle Homecharge Scheme is closed to new applications. It ran from 2014 to 2022 and funded 340,222 domestic charging device installations across the United Kingdom before being replaced by the Electric Vehicle Chargepoint Grant. The published statistics are the final ones for the scheme, so no new claim can be made under it.

What is the vecFLEX sign-up problem and has it been fixed?

evec reported a temporary outage with the vecFLEX onboarding form on 9 March 2026, which caused login issues for people trying to sign up. The company confirmed the following day, 10 March 2026, that the form issue had been resolved as of 10:26 AM GMT. All vecGO chargers are eligible for vecFLEX rewards.