In this guide
The Growatt SPH is a three-phase hybrid inverter, which means it manages solar panels and a battery in one unit rather than needing two separate boxes. The range runs from 4 kW to 10 kW, and every model in it is rated three-phase at 230/400 V1. If your home has a single-phase supply, this is not the range for you: Growatt builds single-phase hybrids separately2.
What the SPH does for a household is straightforward. It stores surplus solar power in a battery during the day and uses it at night, which raises the share of your own generation you actually consume3. It also provides a backup supply to selected circuits when the grid fails, switching over in under 10 ms4. What it does not do is take you off the grid. The inverter still needs a grid connection for normal operation, a battery to store anything, and a broadband link if you want to see what it is doing from anywhere other than the unit itself.
The SPH range at a glance: three-phase hybrids from 4 to 10 kW
Growatt describes the SPH 4000 to 10000TL3 BH-UP as a three-phase hybrid, and the individual model pages confirm the phase rating at 230/400 V1. The series is built around a high-voltage battery and a true UPS function, which is the combination that separates it from a plain string inverter6.
The range is scalable in configuration, and the datasheet lists a transformerless topology, an LCD and LED display, a DC switch and smart phase-level power export limitation7. That last feature matters where a household wants to cap what it sends to the grid, whether because of a connection agreement or because the export tariff on offer is not worth chasing. The range is also listed as VPP interface ready, meaning it can be enrolled in a virtual power plant arrangement where a third party coordinates many home batteries1.
Three-phase matters for a specific kind of house. A property with a three-phase supply, often a larger home, a converted building or one with a heat pump and an electric vehicle charger, can spread load across phases. A single-phase inverter on such a supply leaves two phases doing nothing for solar. The SPH puts generation and battery discharge across all three.
Growatt also makes the WIT 10kW-HU three-phase hybrid, rated at 10 kW, which sits alongside the SPH rather than replacing it5. The two are different product lines with different battery pairings, so the model name on the quote is worth reading carefully.

SPH 4000TL3 to SPH 10000TL3: which size fits which home

The range is named by output: SPH 4000TL3, SPH 5000TL3, SPH 7000TL3 and SPH 10000TL38. All four share the same basic design: transformerless, naturally cooled, with a UPS function, smart phase-level power export limitation and an interface ready for virtual power plant (VPP) schemes. The number in the model name marks the size, and it sets how much power can flow to the house or the grid at any moment.
Sizing is not simply a matter of matching the number to the house. The maximum PV array power is larger than the AC rating on every model, because panels rarely produce at their rated output. The SPH 7000TL3 accepts up to 10.4 kWp of panels, and the SPH 10000TL3 accepts up to 15 kWp5. A household with a large roof can therefore fit more panels than the inverter's headline number suggests.
| Model | AC rating | Max PV array | MPPT trackers | Manufacturer code |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SPH 4000TL3 | 4 kW | Not stated | Not stated | 001308 |
| SPH 5000TL3 | 5 kW | Not stated | Not stated | 001336 |
| SPH 10000TL3 | 10 kW4 | 15 kWp4 | 24 | Not stated |
Two MPPT trackers on the larger models mean the array can be split across two roof orientations or two strings with different shading, each tracked separately4. That is a practical advantage on a roof that faces two ways.
The manufacturer code is worth recording. Growatt lists 00130 for the SPH 4000TL3, 00133 for the SPH 5000TL3 and 00135 for the SPH 7000TL38. These identify the exact variant for parts, warranty registration and support.
Specifications: efficiency, PV input and battery parameters
Growatt publishes a maximum efficiency of 97.6 to 98.2% for the SPH 7000TL3 and a European efficiency of 97.0 to 97.5% for the SPH 10000TL35. The two figures measure different things: peak efficiency is the best point on the curve, while the European figure is a weighted average across part-load conditions and is the more realistic guide to everyday performance.
The datasheet adds the physical and electrical detail: transformerless topology, natural cooling, an LCD and LED display, a DC switch, and an adjustable power factor7. Natural cooling means no fan, which removes a moving part and a noise source. The datasheet also lists grid monitoring, so the inverter watches the supply it is connected to7.
On the battery side, the SPH 10000TL3 and SPH 7000TL3 are both listed as high-voltage battery class4. The range supports lithium and lead-acid batteries, and the datasheet gives the battery type as lithium or lead-acid1. Lead-acid compatibility is unusual in a modern hybrid and matters mainly where an existing battery bank is being reused rather than bought new.
The SPH 3000 to 6000TL BL-UP is a separate single-phase series, and its datasheet confirms a single-phase AC output with lithium or lead-acid battery support2. It is worth knowing it exists, because a household with a single-phase supply that wants Growatt storage is looking at that series or the MIN 2500-XH2, not at the SPH TL310.

UPS backup: changeover in under 10 ms
Every model in the range carries a UPS function, and Growatt lists the switchover time as under 10 ms on the SPH 4000TL3, SPH 5000TL3, SPH 7000TL3 and SPH 10000TL38. The datasheet describes it as a 10 ms transition7. The range description calls it a true UPS function paired with an HV battery6.
Under 10 ms is fast enough that most household equipment will ride through the gap without resetting. It is not instantaneous, and it is a maker's figure rather than an independently verified one. What backup actually covers is the circuits wired to the inverter's backup output, not the whole house. A typical arrangement puts lighting, broadband, a fridge and a few sockets on the backed-up circuits, leaving high-power appliances such as an oven or an electric shower on the grid side.
The battery is what makes backup possible at all. Growatt states that the ARK 2.5H-A2, combined with a hybrid inverter, keeps selected circuits running during a grid outage through the inverter's backup function11. Without a battery, or with a flat one, there is nothing to switch to.
Batteries: ARK 2.5H-A2 and the compatible ARK storage sets

The building block of Growatt's high-voltage storage is the ARK 2.5H-A2, listed at 2.6 kWh nominal capacity with modular expansion and an integrated battery management system on board11. Modules stack to the capacity an installation needs, and the on-board battery management system handles cell balancing and protection within the battery stack.
Growatt sells ready-made ARK storage sets for the SPH. One ARK kit is listed as compatible with three-phase Growatt SPH hybrid inverters (TL3 BH-UP), and a larger ARK set is described as designed to work with the same three-phase SPH (TL3 BH-UP) hybrid inverters12. Combined with a hybrid inverter, these sets keep selected circuits running during a grid outage through the inverter's backup function, so the size of set chosen decides how long those circuits can run without the grid.
The ARK 2.5H-A2 carries a 10 year European service warranty per the manufacturer's terms, matching the inverter11. The cabling is part of the system too: the ARK-2.5H-A1 cable is listed as compatible with Growatt ARK batteries14.
For households looking at other Growatt storage, the APX series stacks compact 5 kWh modules into systems of up to 30 kWh for residential and commercial three-phase hybrid systems, and the GroHome system diagram shows an APX HV battery of 5 to 30 kWh15. Those are different product lines with different inverter pairings, so the battery and inverter have to be specified together rather than bought separately.
Monitoring and control with ShinePhone and ShineServer
The SPH works with the free ShinePhone app and the ShineServer portal, connecting over Wi-Fi4. ShinePhone is described as the system monitoring app for users, with simple Wi-Fi configuration14. The inverter's own specification lists monitoring as ShinePhone and ShineServer over Wi-Fi4.
What that gives a household is a view of generation, consumption, battery state and export, usually with historical charts. Growatt's wider ecosystem is described as the ShinePhone and ShineServer monitoring ecosystem, and the same platform covers other Growatt devices such as the SYN backup boxes, which become part of a system monitored in the app and portal once connected16.
This is the clearest dependence the system creates. The inverter keeps working without an internet connection, and the local display and the battery logic carry on regardless. But the remote view, the historical data and any remote diagnostics depend on a working home broadband connection, Growatt's servers and a manufacturer's app. If the broadband drops, the system still runs; you simply cannot see it from elsewhere. Growatt has published troubleshooting guidance for inverters showing offline in the ShinePhone app, which indicates the failure mode is common enough to warrant a support article16.
Warranty: 10 years across the range

Growatt lists a 10 year European service warranty on the SPH 10000TL3, per the manufacturer, and the same term on the ARK 2.5H-A2 battery4. The warranty is described as a European service warranty per the manufacturer's terms, which is the wording to read closely: it is a service warranty, and its conditions sit in Growatt's documentation rather than in the product page.
Installation is one of those conditions. Growatt states that its backup boxes are installed by a qualified installer according to the manufacturer's instructions and the wiring diagram of the specific inverter or energy storage system, and that correct installation is a condition of keeping the warranty17. The SPH 7000TL3 page repeats the requirement: installation should be carried out by a qualified installer in line with the manufacturer's manual and the local grid connection requirements5.
The practical consequence is that the warranty is not a document that travels with the box. It depends on who fitted it, how it was wired, and whether the installation followed the manual for that exact model. Keeping the installer's paperwork and the commissioning record is what makes a claim straightforward later.
Installation, siting and what owning an SPH means for energy independence
Installation of an SPH is a qualified-installer job, and Growatt's guidance ties it to the manufacturer's manual and the local grid connection requirements5. In the UK that means the electrical work falls under the Wiring Regulations and the relevant standards, which is the territory the NAPIT practical guide to solar PV and battery storage covers, alongside expected performance, self-consumption and grid independence, array mounting, cable type, location, connections, inspection and testing19.
Siting is a question the manual answers rather than the product page. Growatt's off-grid SPF 6000ES carries an IP65 enclosure rated for indoor and outdoor installation, but no equivalent outdoor rating is stated for the SPH in the published specifications16. The inverter uses natural cooling, so it needs airflow and a location out of direct weather unless the manual says otherwise7.
The SPH is three-phase, so a single-phase property is looking at a different Growatt series entirely2.
What the SPH does for independence is real but bounded. It raises self-consumption of your own generation, which is the mechanism by which a household stops buying units it could have made itself3. Independent guidance puts the effective cost of self-consumed solar power at 0p per kWh for the next 25 years, which is the value the battery is capturing20. The NAPIT guide frames the same territory as PV self-consumption and grid independence19.
What remains is the grid, a supplier, and the internet. The inverter needs a grid connection for normal operation, the battery is a store rather than a source, and the monitoring view lives on Growatt's servers. For a household weighing the trade, the honest position is that an SPH shifts the balance of where your electricity comes from without removing the connections that keep it flowing.
Sources20 cited
- SPH 4000-10000TL3 BH-UP, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- SPH 3000-6000TL BL-UP, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt residential storage system, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt SPH 10000TL3, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt SPH 7000TL3, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt SPH 5000TL3, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- SPH4000-10000TL3 BH-UP datasheet, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt SPH 4000TL3, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- SPH 3000-6000TL BL-UP datasheet, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt MIN 2500-XH2, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt ARK 2.5H-A2 battery, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt ARK 10.24 kWh battery kit for SPH, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt ARK battery set 20.48 kWh for SPH, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt monitoring platform, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- GroHome system, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt SPF 6000ES Plus off-grid inverter, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt SYN-100-XH-30 backup box, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- Growatt SYN 50-XH-10 backup box, Growatt, 2026-09-17
- NAPIT Practical Guide: Solar PV & Battery Storage A4:2026, NAPIT, 2026-09-17
- Solar panels guide, Uswitch, 2026-09-16

