Search

Tesla Powerwall 3 Compared With Powerwall 2

Is the Powerwall 3 worth it if I already have a Powerwall 2? Will it keep my lights on in a power cut? And what does the built-in inverter actually change?

Straight answers on both batteries, what the built-in inverter does, how each one handles a power cut, what they cost, the warranty rules and how they behave in cold weather.

A close-up of two slim wall-mounted home battery units side by side on an exterior wall, the newer one alone and the older one with a separate solar inverter box mounted beside it, both with their cabling visible.
In this comparison
  1. Short Answer
  2. Specs Side by Side
  3. Built-in Inverter
  4. Backup in a Power Cut
  5. Scalability and Limits
  6. Cost and Payback
  7. Warranty Terms
  8. Cold Weather and Siting

The Powerwall 3 is the unit Tesla now sells in the UK, and the Powerwall 2 is the one thousands of British homes already have on the wall. The difference that matters most is architectural: the Powerwall 3 has a built-in solar inverter and system controller, while the Powerwall 2 was AC-coupled and needed a separate solar inverter1. Tesla states plainly that the Powerwall 3 has more power output, a built-in solar inverter and better backup performance than the Powerwall 22.

Both store 13.5 kWh, and both carry a 10-year warranty, but the conditions attached to that warranty are not the same, and the Powerwall 3's depends on a live internet connection3. Tesla's own UK pricing page quotes £7,495 with 0% VAT for a Powerwall 3 including the unit and basic installation5.

Powerwall 3 vs Powerwall 2: the short answer

For a household choosing today, the Powerwall 3 is the current product and the Powerwall 2 is the older one. Tesla's own comparison of the two generations lists the Powerwall 3's advantages as more power output, a built-in solar inverter and better backup performance2. The Powerwall 2 was AC-coupled and required a separate solar inverter, which meant an extra box on the wall and an extra conversion step between the panels and the battery8.

The practical consequence is that a Powerwall 3 installation can absorb solar directly. Tesla states the unit comes with a built-in solar inverter and works with or without solar panels, storing energy from the panels or the grid2. A Powerwall 2 owner adding storage to an existing array keeps the array's original inverter and couples the battery on the AC side.

There is one hard compatibility limit. Tesla states that a Powerwall 3 cannot be installed on top of a current Powerwall 2, so an existing Powerwall 2 owner cannot simply add the newer unit to the same system10. That is the single most important fact for anyone with a Powerwall 2 already installed and wondering whether the upgrade is a bolt-on. It is not.

Both units are rated IP67 for water and dust resistance in the Powerwall 3's case, and Tesla lists water and dust resistance for the Powerwall 2 as well1. Both are designed for indoor or outdoor siting, and the Powerwall 3 weighs 130 kg1.

A Tesla Powerwall battery and associated electrical equipment installed on the wall of a modern garage
A Tesla Powerwall battery and associated electrical equipment installed on the wall of a modern garage. Image: Tesla Powerwall UK

Specifications side by side: capacity, power and efficiency

A white Tesla Powerwall 3 home battery installed on a wall outside a house next to a garage with an EV charging cable
A wall mounted home battery unit Image: Tesla

The headline capacity is unchanged between generations at 13.5 kWh, and Tesla describes that as a usable figure against a nominal capacity closer to 15 kWh1. Independent guidance lists the Tesla Powerwall at 13.5 kWh with a 10-year warranty4. The Powerwall 3 Expansion unit is also listed at 13.5 kWh usable, and Tesla gives the Powerwall 3 a nominal capacity of 13.5 kWh per unit; both figures are given here as published5.

SpecificationPowerwall 3Powerwall 2
Usable capacity13.5 kWh113.5 kWh4
Peak powerUp to 11.04 kW67 kW peak1
Continuous charge powerConfigurable up to 5 kW AC (8 kW AC with Expansion units)3Not stated in these sources
InverterIntegrated, 97.5% efficiency6Separate solar inverter required8
MPPT inputs3 on the datasheet; 6 MPPT strings claimed3Not applicable
Depth of dischargeUp to 100%6Not stated in these sources
ChemistryLFP14Not stated in these sources
Enclosure ratingIP55 on the datasheet; IP67 quoted elsewhere3Water and dust resistance1
Weight130 kg1Not stated in these sources

The power gap is the one most owners notice. Tesla quotes up to 11.04 kW of output for the Powerwall 3 against 7 kW peak for the Powerwall 2, and describes continuous power output rising from 5 kW to 11.04 kW with load start capacity moving from 106 A to 185 A1. That matters for homes with an electric shower, an induction hob and a heat pump all wanting current at once.

Efficiency is quoted at up to 97% for the Powerwall 3, with the integrated solar inverter at 97.5%6. Round-trip losses still exist, and the round-trip efficiency page explains where they arise.

The built-in inverter: what changed from AC-coupled Powerwall 2

The Powerwall 2 was AC-coupled and required a separate solar inverter8. The Powerwall 3 has an integrated inverter and system controller, and Tesla describes it as featuring an integrated hybrid solar inverter1. That single change reshapes the installation.

Because the inverter is inside the battery, a Powerwall 3 can take solar strings directly. Tesla states the unit supports up to 20 kWp of connected solar on a single unit, with 6 MPPT inputs, and that modern integrated systems such as the Powerwall 3 manage the PV to battery charge ratio automatically across multiple MPPT inputs12. The datasheet lists 3 MPPTs, while Tesla's earlier announcement refers to 6 MPPT strings the new inverter claims; the two figures are given as published3.

For a household, the difference is fewer boxes and one fewer conversion. In an AC-coupled system the solar inverter converts DC from the panels to AC, and the battery converts it back to DC to store it, then back to AC to use it. A DC-coupled arrangement with an integrated inverter removes at least one of those conversions. The AC-coupled and DC-coupled battery systems page sets out the trade-offs in full.

The integrated design also means the battery's inverter rating governs how much solar can be connected. Tesla states the inverter rating is fully software-configurable between 3.68 and 11.04 kW with no hardware changes required9. That configurability is unusual and is what allows the same unit to serve a small array and a large one.

A cutaway diagram of a Powerwall 3 battery unit with its integrated inverter visible inside, solar DC string cables from rooftop panels entering directly into the unit, contrasted beside a Powerwall 2 battery fed by AC from a separate wall-mounted solar inverter.
The Powerwall 3 takes solar strings directly, where the Powerwall 2 sat on the AC side of a separate inverter. Image: Illustration

Backup during a power cut: what each can and cannot do

Tesla states that the Powerwall 3 stores energy from solar panels or the grid and activates instantly when a power cut happens, and lists quick backup transition among its features10. During an outage the system automatically switches to stored energy, keeping essential appliances such as a refrigerator, heating system or lights running16. A backup reserve can be held for emergencies17.

The Powerwall 2 can also keep a solar system working and provide backup in a power cut, a capability Tesla announced for it in 201918. So backup is not new. What changed is how much of the house can be carried and how the system is wired.

Whole-home backup is possible but conditional. Tesla answers the question directly: yes, depending on how much energy the home uses, and one or more Powerwalls may be needed2. During a power cut the Powerwall 3 can deliver up to 5 kW of power at any one time, which is the figure to compare against a home's simultaneous load19. A household running an electric shower, an oven and a heat pump together will exceed that; one running lights, broadband and a fridge will not.

Three-phase is where the UK position is unsettled. Tesla states one Powerwall 3 per phase plus three expansion packs per unit, and lists three-phase power cut protection support as coming soon20. Independent guidance states that one phase can be backed up and that three-phase backup is not currently available on the Tesla system in the UK9. A three-phase Powerwall 3P went on sale in Germany on 23 April 2026 with no UK release date announced13. The battery backup in a power cut page covers the wiring principles.

Scalability: expansion packs, stacking and three-phase limits

A single Powerwall 3 battery unit standing on the floor with three Expansion units stacked in a line behind it on a floor mount, shown in a simple indoor setting.
Battery units stacked together on the floor

Tesla lists scalability of up to 4 Powerwall 3 units, and the datasheet gives power scalability of up to 4 Powerwall 3 units supported1. Energy scalability runs to up to 3 Expansion units for a maximum total of 7 units, with stacking capability of up to 3 Expansion units behind a Powerwall 3 on floor mount only3. Tesla also quotes a total of 54 kWh where three additional packs are installed2.

The Powerwall 2 was itself stackable, listed at up to 10 units with up to 13.5 kWh maximum addition per unit1. The Powerwall 3's headline unit count is lower, but each unit can carry expansion packs that add capacity without duplicating inverter capacity6. That is the design logic: one inverter serves a stack of batteries rather than each battery bringing its own.

ConfigurationCapacitySource
Single Powerwall 313.5 kWh1
Powerwall 3 plus 3 Expansion packs54 kWh total2
Maximum units7 (1 Powerwall 3 plus up to 3 Expansion units, up to 4 Powerwall 3 units)3
Maximum described stackUp to 216 kWh with additional units and expansion packs mounted to the front20

Tesla states that no additional grid permission is needed for expansion packs2. That is a meaningful administrative point, because a larger system can otherwise trigger a network operator application. The G98 and G99 page explains when permission is required.

Mounting is flexible: internal or external, wall-mounted or floor-mounted, with additional units and expansion packs mounted to the front of a Powerwall 320. Expansion packs are floor mount only3. The modular and stackable battery systems page covers the general principles of expanding capacity later.

Cost, payback and the 0% VAT position

Tesla's UK pricing page quotes £7,495 with 0% VAT, described as including the unit and basic installation, with possible additional costs based on the home setup or electrical upgrades5. Independent guidance puts a Powerwall 3 at around £6,700 to £7,600 per battery unit depending on installation requirements21. Both figures are given because they measure slightly different things: one is a headline installed price, the other a per-unit range.

On cost per usable kilowatt-hour, Tesla states the installed price gap between the Powerwall 3, Sigenergy SigenStor and Fox Evo is under 4%, and that the Powerwall 3 sits around 3% higher than the Fox Evo9. That is a maker's comparison of its own product against rivals, and it is the only cost-position figure available here.

Tesla claims the Powerwall 3 stores low-cost electricity for when prices spike, cutting bills by up to 50%2. That is a maker's claim, not an independently verified saving, and it depends on the tariff, the load profile and how the battery is dispatched. The system stores energy when rates are lower and uses it when prices rise during peak hours, and it can charge from the grid during off-peak hours as well as from solar16. It can also export stored energy back when prices surge2.

Payback depends on the spread between import and export prices, the household's consumption and the tariff. The battery payback and savings page explains how the numbers are worked out, and the home battery cost page covers pricing across the market.

Warranty: 10 years, but only with an internet connection

A home broadband router on a shelf with its power lead and an Ethernet cable running to a wall-mounted Powerwall 3 battery unit nearby, with a small isometric figure of a householder plugging the router's cable in.
A router providing the internet connection

The Powerwall 3 carries a 10-year warranty on the datasheet, and independent guidance lists the Tesla Powerwall at 13.5 kWh with a 10-year warranty3. Good Energy lists leading product warranties of 25 years for solar, 12 years for the inverter and 10 years for the Powerwall 322.

The condition is the part owners miss. Tesla states that to secure the full 10-year warranty for Powerwall 3, it must be reliably connected to the internet to allow remote firmware upgrades from Tesla7. If an internet connection is not established, or is interrupted for an extended period and Tesla is unable to contact the owner, the warranty may be limited to 4 years7.

"To secure the full 10-year warranty for Powerwall 3, it must be reliably connected to the Internet to allow remote firmware upgrades from Tesla"
Tesla, Powerwall 3 Owner Manual7

Connectivity options are Wi-Fi on 2.4 and 5 GHz, Ethernet and cellular LTE/4G, so a household without reliable broadband is not automatically excluded3. The cellular option is the fallback that keeps the warranty condition satisfiable.

The Powerwall 2 warranty terms differ in structure. Tesla lists 10 years for electronic components, 10 years or energy throughput whichever comes first for battery modules, unlimited charging cycles, and a permanent internet connection required as a special guarantee condition23. The Powerwall 2's electronic component cover applies in case of defect23.

The home battery warranties page covers retained capacity, throughput limits and conditions across the market.

Cold weather, siting and day-to-day ownership

Cold weather affects the two generations differently. Older Powerwall 2 units throttle their charge rate near freezing, while the Powerwall 3 forecasts temperature swings and pre-heats or pre-cools the cells to hold them in their optimal range24. That is a maker's description of its own products, and it points to a real operational difference in a British winter.

The Powerwall 3 is listed as flood and dust resistant, with an IP67 rating quoted in one source and an IP55 enclosure rating on the datasheet11. It can be installed internally or externally, wall-mounted or floor-mounted20. The battery siting and location page covers where a unit can go.

Day to day, the system is managed through the Tesla app, which Tesla describes as giving full control over the home's energy consumption with real-time tracking of energy generated, stored and used, plus insights and adjustable settings16. The app lets the owner manage the Powerwall from anywhere9. Tesla's own guidance quotes a 4.4 star Apple App Store rating for the app6.

The system stores excess solar generated during the day for use at night or in cloudy weather, and can charge a Tesla vehicle after sunset from stored solar16. Rate Plan Charging can reduce home vehicle charging costs when a Powerwall and a compatible Wall Connector are installed, with Time-Based Control built around off-peak, mid-peak and peak periods26.

On independence, the picture is mixed. The battery reduces reliance on imported electricity at peak times and keeps essentials running in an outage, but it remains tied to the grid for charging, to a supplier for tariff signals, to Tesla for firmware and warranty compliance, and to the Tesla app for control. Tesla Energy Ventures was granted a GB electricity supply licence by Ofgem, effective 11 March 2026, which points to a future where the same company supplies the electricity as well as the hardware13. Tesla states the Powerwall 3 does not currently have a UK virtual power plant option9, though Tesla operates a virtual power plant programme elsewhere27. The home batteries and household energy independence page examines what that dependence means in practice.

A Tesla Powerwall 3 home battery installed on a wall with backup gateway and electrical panels connected by conduit
A Tesla Powerwall 3 home battery installed on a wall with backup gateway and electrical panels connected by conduit. Image: Tesla Powerwall UK
Sources27 cited
  1. Powerwall 3 product page, Tesla, 2026-09-17
  2. Powerwall 3 UK, Tesla Powerwall UK, 2026-07-01
  3. Powerwall 3 Datasheet EN-UK, Tesla, 2026-09-17
  4. Tesla Powerwall 2 vs 3, Spirit Energy, 2024-06-18
  5. How much does it cost to install a Tesla Powerwall, Tesla Powerwall UK, 2026-09-17
  6. The best solar batteries explained, Good Energy, 2026-07-14
  7. Powerwall 3 Owner Manual, Tesla, 2026-09-17
  8. Solar panel backup, Spirit Energy, 2026
  9. What's the best battery in 2026, Spirit Energy, 2026-07-17
  10. Powerwall 3 or generator, Tesla Powerwall UK, 2026-09-17
  11. Will your home battery work in winter, Spirit Energy, 2026-01-30
  12. How much battery storage should you get, Spirit Energy, 2026-08-07
  13. Tesla Electric UK six months on from the Ofgem licence, Spirit Energy, 2026
  14. Best solar batteries, SolaX Power, 2026-05-12
  15. Batteries grid back up, Spirit Energy, 2026
  16. Is Tesla Powerwall right for your home: 5 questions to ask, Tesla Powerwall UK, 2026-09-17
  17. Virtual power plant, Tesla, 2026-09-17
  18. Solar battery UK, Spirit Energy, 2019-04-05
  19. Solar panel myths busted, Good Energy, 2026-07-10
  20. Residential solar energy storage overview, Spirit Energy, 2026
  21. Tesla Powerwall 3, Good Energy, 2026-03-25
  22. Solar panels, Good Energy, 2026-09-18
  23. Powerwall Limited Warranty, Tesla, 2026-09-17
  24. Solar panel survey: what to expect, Spirit Energy, 2026-06-26
  25. Charge your Tesla with solar energy using Tesla Powerwall 3, Tesla Powerwall UK, 2026-09-17
  26. Home battery brands for off-peak EV charging UK and Europe, SolaX Power, 2026-08-19
  27. Tesla Powerwall UK, Tesla Powerwall UK, 2026-09-14

Questions

Answers here, and more on their own pages.

How much does a Powerwall 3 cost in the UK including installation?

Tesla's own UK pricing page quotes £7,495 with 0% VAT, covering the unit and basic installation, with possible extra costs depending on the home setup or electrical upgrades. Independent guidance puts a Powerwall 3 at roughly £6,700 to £7,600 per unit depending on installation requirements. Prices are installer-quoted, so the figure varies with cable runs, gateway and any electrical work.

Can Powerwall 3 work without solar panels?

Yes. Tesla states the unit works with or without solar panels and can store grid electricity, which makes it usable in a home with no PV at all. It charges from the grid during off-peak hours and discharges when prices rise. Solar can be added later, and the built-in inverter means panels can be connected to the battery rather than needing a separate inverter.

How long does a Powerwall 3 take to charge from empty?

A single Powerwall 3 takes around two hours 42 minutes to charge fully from empty. Stack two together and that rises to roughly three hours 22 minutes, because the charge rate only scales up to a point. Maximum continuous charge power is configurable up to 5 kW AC for a Powerwall 3 alone, or up to 8 kW AC where expansion units are fitted.

Can I run my whole house on a Powerwall 3 during an outage?

Tesla says yes, depending on how much energy the home uses, and that one or more Powerwalls may be needed. During an outage the system switches to stored energy and keeps essentials such as a refrigerator, heating system or lights running. A backup reserve can be set aside for emergencies, and the Backup Gateway 2 is required for a backup configuration.

Does Powerwall 3 support three-phase supplies in the UK?

Tesla states one Powerwall 3 per phase plus three expansion packs per unit, but three-phase power cut protection is listed as coming soon. Independent guidance is blunter: one phase can be backed up, and three-phase backup is not currently available on the Tesla system in the UK. A three-phase Powerwall 3P went on sale in Germany in April 2026 with no UK release date announced.

Can Powerwall 3 be connected to a generator?

No. Tesla's own comparison table answers the generator question with a plain no, and the supported islanding device for the unit is the Backup Gateway 2. Tesla also states that a Powerwall 3 cannot be installed on top of an existing Powerwall 2. The unit runs without fuel, produces no noise and needs minimal upkeep, which is the contrast Tesla draws with a generator.

What happens to the warranty if the internet connection drops?

The full 10-year warranty requires the unit to be reliably connected to the internet so Tesla can push remote firmware upgrades. If a connection is not established, or is interrupted for an extended period and Tesla cannot contact the owner, the warranty may be limited to 4 years. Connectivity options include Wi-Fi on 2.4 and 5 GHz, Ethernet and cellular LTE/4G.

How many Powerwall units can I stack together?

Tesla lists scalability of up to 4 Powerwall 3 units, with up to 3 Expansion units behind a Powerwall 3 on floor mount only, giving a maximum total of 7 units. Tesla also quotes a total of 54 kWh where three additional packs are installed, and describes stacking up to 216 kWh with additional units and expansion packs mounted to the front of a Powerwall 3.

How do I know if my solar panels need replacing?Is it worth adding a battery to my solar and EV setup?Will a battery storage system work during a power cut?Removing and Refitting Solar Panels for Roof RepairsCan solar panels power a heat pump?Can I add more batteries to my system later?