Tesla released the Powerwall 3 in September 2023, a home battery that incorporates a solar inverter inside the unit rather than relying on separate inverter hardware1. The company states that the product "marked the release of Powerwall 3 with an integrated solar inverter"1. It follows the first Powerwall, which Tesla says was installed in May 2015, and a line that began at Giga Nevada with a Tesla-designed DC-to-AC inverter1.
The unit is listed with an energy capacity of 13.5 kWh and on-grid power of up to 11.04 kW, depending on local conditions1. Backup power is given as 185 A LRA (locked rotor amps) motor start, with what Tesla describes as quick backup transition1. Solar-to-grid efficiency is stated at 97.5 per cent, and the unit carries three solar inputs with maximum power point trackers1.
| Specification | Figure |
|---|---|
| Energy capacity | 13.5 kWh1 |
| On-grid power | Up to 11.04 kW, depending on local conditions1 |
| Backup power | 185 A LRA motor start1 |
| Solar-to-grid efficiency | 97.5%1 |
| Solar inputs | 3, with maximum power point trackers1 |
| Dimensions | 1,105 mm x 609 mm x 193 mm1 |
| Weight | 130 kg1 |
| Scalability | Up to 4 units1 |
| Warranty | 10 years1 |
Physical details given by Tesla include dimensions of 1,105 mm by 609 mm by 193 mm and a weight of 130 kg1. The system is scalable to up to four units, with system expansion available at any time and a maximum addition of 40.5 kWh per unit1. Installation is rated from minus 20°C to 50°C, and the enclosure is described as flood and dust resistant1. Tesla lists an integrated inverter and system controller, certification against local safety and EMI standards, a warranty of 10 years and 5 kW continuous output1.
Tesla also reports cumulative figures for the Powerwall line: over one million installed globally, 6.7 GW of battery power, 17.3 TWh of energy delivered and 142.9 million hours of protection1. It states that the one millionth Powerwall was installed at a customer's home1. The company does not give a date for that installation on the page1.
"September 2023 marked the release of Powerwall 3 with an integrated solar inverter."
Why it matters for households
The integrated inverter is the substantive change. A home that adds a Powerwall 3 is adding both storage and the equipment that converts solar panel output, which affects how a system is specified and how many separate boxes are mounted on a wall. Tesla lists three solar inputs with maximum power point trackers, so panels can be connected directly to the battery rather than through a separate inverter1.
For energy independence, the figures that matter are the 13.5 kWh capacity, the 185 A locked rotor amps motor start and the quick backup transition1. Motor start rating indicates the size of appliance, such as a pump or compressor, that the unit can start while off-grid. Capacity sets how long a home can run on stored energy, though Tesla does not state a runtime figure1.
Scalability to four units, with 40.5 kWh maximum addition per unit, means a property can be sized up over time rather than in one installation1. Tesla does not publish UK pricing, installation cost or eligible tariff arrangements on the page, and no UK-specific availability date is given1.
What happens next
No dated next steps are given. Tesla's page does not state a UK launch date, pricing or installer arrangements for the Powerwall 31.
