In this guide
The Sungrow SBH is a high-voltage lithium iron phosphate (LFP) home battery with a capacity range of 10 to 40 kWh per battery unit, and up to 160 kWh where four units run in parallel1. Each module holds 5 kWh, and Sungrow states the series supports up to 8 modules per unit with 4 units in parallel2.
It is not a standalone product. The SBH needs a Sungrow hybrid inverter to charge and discharge it, and Sungrow lists compatibility with the SHT, SHRS and SHRS-20 series1. Backup changeover is quoted at 0 ms disruption, and the module carries a 10-year product warranty alongside CE, UN38.3, IEC 62619 and VDE 2510-50 certification3.
For a household, the appeal is straightforward: a battery that can be sized to the house now and extended later without replacing the stack. The dependence is equally clear. The SBH only works inside the Sungrow ecosystem, monitoring runs through Sungrow's iSolarCloud platform, and the battery does nothing at all without a compatible inverter from the same maker.
What the SBH is: a high-voltage LFP battery for homes and small commercial sites
The SBH is built around LFP cells, the chemistry Sungrow names as LiFePO4 in the system listings5. LFP is the chemistry most home batteries now use, and the SBH sits in the high-voltage branch of that family rather than a low-voltage one. The SBH SMR050 module has a nominal voltage of 70.4 V, and an eight-module stack is listed at a nominal 563.2 V3.
That voltage choice drives the rest of the specification. Higher voltage means lower current for the same power, which is why the series runs at a maximum charge and discharge current of 50 A rather than the hundreds of amps a low-voltage stack would need1. Sungrow states that with a maximum current of 50 A the system charges faster than expected4.
Sungrow describes the series as suitable for residential use and, at the larger end, for small commercial sites, and the same platform appears in the maker's home solutions pages7.
Sungrow also builds a lower-capacity high-voltage battery, the SBS050, which shares the LFP chemistry but tops out at 20.48 kWh and pairs only with the SHRS and SHRS-20 inverters8. The SBH is the larger of the two ranges and the one that scales furthest.

Capacity range: 10 to 40 kWh per stack, from 5 kWh modules

Every SBH stack is assembled from the same 5 kWh module, so capacity is simply a count. Sungrow states the range as 10 to 40 kWh per battery unit, and the module listing describes a stack that runs from 2 to 8 modules with no redesign4.
The practical effect is that a household does not choose a fixed product. It chooses a number of modules, and the same hardware serves a flat and a large house.
| Stack | Modules | Capacity | Listed system weight |
|---|---|---|---|
| SBH150 | 3 x 5 kWh | 15 kWh | 173 kg9 |
| SBH400 | 8 x 5 kWh | 40 kWh | Not stated |
One point of confusion sits in the listings. A 15 kWh stack is described in one place with 3 modules and in another with a different module count, and the published configurations of the larger stacks do not agree9. The capacity figures themselves are consistent: 5 kWh per module, 10 to 40 kWh per stack.
For a household, the modular approach is the main independence benefit. Capacity can be matched to actual consumption rather than guessed at the outset, and the stack can be extended later by adding modules rather than replacing the whole battery. That is the same principle covered in modular and stackable home batteries, and the usable-capacity question is set out in battery capacity and usable capacity.
Scalability: 8 modules per unit, 4 units in parallel, up to 160 kWh
Sungrow states that the SBH supports up to 8 modules per unit and 4 units in parallel, and gives the maximum system capacity as 160 kWh2. That is the headline scalability figure: four 40 kWh stacks on one system.
The SBH SMR050 module listing states up to 2 stacks, or 80 kWh, per inverter3. Sungrow's own series pages state 4 units in parallel and 160 kWh2. The two figures are not reconciled in the material, so the practical ceiling depends on the inverter model, the supported battery-voltage range and the final system design.
Expansion is not automatic. The distributor listings state that a battery stack may be expanded with additional compatible SBH modules, subject to the inverter's supported battery-voltage range, Sungrow compatibility limits and the final system design5. In other words, adding modules later is possible but has to be checked against the inverter already installed, not assumed.
Sungrow also notes that the batteries support 3 to 8 modules per unit, allowing a maximum of 4 units in parallel2.
For a household, the value of this scalability is that a system can start small and grow with a heat pump or an electric vehicle, rather than being replaced. The limits are real, though: the inverter, the voltage window and the physical space all cap what can be added. The general principles are covered in can I add more batteries to my system later.
Key specifications: 100% depth of discharge, 50 A current, IP55 rating
The SBH is rated for a maximum 100% depth of discharge, meaning the full nominal capacity is available in principle rather than a reserved slice being held back1. That is a headline figure, and it is worth reading alongside the warranty terms, because cycling a battery to its full depth every day is not the same as cycling it gently.
Current is capped at 50 A maximum charge and discharge1. Sungrow presents this as a speed advantage, stating that with a maximum current of 50 A the system charges faster than expected4. The 50 A figure is continuous in the stack listings6.
The environmental rating is IP55, and Sungrow describes the series as resistant against water, dust and corrosion1. The module listing states plainly that it is suitable for outdoors3. IP55 covers dust ingress and water sprayed from any direction; it is not a waterproof rating and does not permit submersion.
Protection runs at several levels. Sungrow states that its N+1 protection offers rack-level battery management on the batteries, a total energy management system on the inverter, and real-time monitoring of system status1. That means the battery has its own management electronics rather than relying entirely on the inverter.
Installation is described as simple, requiring no forklifts or cranes1. That matters more than it sounds: a 40 kWh stack is heavy, and the claim is that it can be handled and positioned without plant equipment.

Backup power: 0 ms changeover between grid and off-grid

Sungrow quotes the SBH series backup changeover at 0 ms disruption, and describes a seamless on and off-grid switch during grid failures with large overload power for multiple appliances1. The SHT inverter pages repeat the same 0 ms figure7.
The inverter listings tell a slightly different story. The single-phase SHRS models are listed with a backup switchover time of under 10 ms, and the three-phase SH25T is listed at under 10 ms6. The module listing for the SBH SMR050 states an EPS switchover of under 10 ms, noting that it is inverter and firmware dependent3.
So the documents give two figures: 0 ms on the battery and SHT pages, and under 10 ms on the inverter and module listings. Both are fast enough that most equipment will not notice the transition, but they are not the same number, and the material does not reconcile them.
What backup actually covers depends on how the system is wired. A battery and inverter can only keep a circuit running if that circuit sits on the backup supply, which is a design decision made at installation rather than a property of the battery. The general position is set out in battery backup in a power cut and do I need a backup interface.
For a household, backup is the clearest independence benefit the SBH offers: the ability to keep selected circuits running when the grid fails. The limit is that it is a partial independence, covering the circuits wired to the backup supply and lasting only as long as the stored energy allows.
Inverter compatibility: SHT, SHRS and SHRS-20 hybrid inverters
Sungrow states that the SBH series is fully compatible with hybrid inverters including the SHT series, the SHRS series and the SHRS-20 series1. The SHT models are three-phase units from 15 kW to 25 kW, and the SHRS models are single-phase units7.
The pairing is not open. The SBH does not work with a generic inverter or with another maker's hybrid, and the SBS050 battery is restricted further, pairing only with the SHRS and SHRS-20 series8. A household choosing the SBH is choosing the Sungrow inverter ecosystem with it.
The pattern is that stack size and inverter size are matched, not chosen independently.
The SHT series received VDE-AR-N 4105:2026 certification from TÜV Rheinland in March 2026, described as the first product to meet the German low-voltage grid connection standard11. That is a German certification rather than a UK one, and UK connection follows the G98 and G99 process, covered in telling the network operator about a home battery.
For a household, the compatibility list is the main constraint on independence. The battery cannot be carried to a different inverter brand later, and the choice of inverter determines whether the system is single-phase or three-phase, which in turn determines what it can back up.
Installation, monitoring and the iSolarCloud app
Monitoring runs through iSolarCloud, Sungrow's platform. The maker states that with access to iSolarCloud you can keep track and manage all aspects of your PV and energy storage system right from your phone12. The same platform appears across the SBH and SBS050 pages8.
The battery has no screen of its own. Data travels through the hybrid inverter, so monitoring depends on the inverter being connected and on Sungrow's cloud service being reachable.
That is the clearest dependence the SBH creates. Local operation of the battery continues without an internet connection, but remote monitoring, historical data and any cloud-based management depend on a home broadband connection and on Sungrow's servers. The general position is set out in monitoring a home battery.
Installation is a two-person job at the larger sizes. Sungrow states the series is simple to install, requiring no forklifts or cranes1. An accessory kit is listed as required for every storage stack from 10.0 kWh to 40.0 kWh14.
Sungrow's own case material describes homeowners using the system for smart energy living, which is the maker's framing rather than an independent finding15. The installation itself is governed by UK standards, covered in the standards governing home battery installation, and siting by where a home battery can be installed.

Warranty and certifications: 10-year product warranty, CE, UN38.3, IEC 62619, VDE 2510-50

The SBH SMR050 module carries a 10-year product warranty, and the certifications listed are CE, UN38.3, IEC 62619 and VDE 2510-503. Those cover, in turn, European conformity, transport safety for lithium cells, safety requirements for industrial lithium batteries, and the German safety standard for stationary battery systems.
The warranty term is the headline, but the conditions behind it are not set out in the material available here. A 10-year product warranty is not the same as a 10-year performance guarantee: product warranties typically cover defects, while capacity retention over time is a separate promise. The distinction is explained in home battery warranties, and the degradation question in home battery cycle life and degradation.
On fire safety, Sungrow announced in November 2025 that its SBH Residential ESS passed the UL 9540B large-scale fire test conducted by UL Solutions, described as the world's first such residential test16. That is a US standard and a maker announcement, not a UK certification, and it does not replace the UK installation standards. The wider subject is covered in home battery fire safety.
The 100% depth of discharge rating sits alongside the warranty in a way worth noting. A battery rated to discharge fully is not necessarily warrantied to do so daily for ten years, and the material here does not state the cycle limit or the retained-capacity threshold. Those are the figures that determine what the warranty is worth in practice.
For a household, the certification list is the reassurance: the SBH meets recognised safety and transport standards, and the maker has published a fire test result. The limit is that the warranty conditions, the cycle life and the retained-capacity guarantee are not visible in the published specification, so they are questions to put to an installer before committing.
Sources16 cited
- SBH100-400 high voltage battery, Sungrow, 2026-09-19
- Sungrow high voltage LFP battery, Sungrow, 2026-09-17
- SBH SMR050 5.0kWh battery module, Alternergy, 2026-09-17
- SBH100-400 high voltage battery, Sungrow, 2026-09-19
- SBH 10kWh system with SH4.0RS inverter, Alternergy, 2026-09-17
- SBH 40kWh system with SH25T inverter, Alternergy, 2026-09-17
- SHT 15-25 kW hybrid inverter, Sungrow, 2026-09-17
- Sungrow home solutions, Sungrow, 2026-09-17
- SBH 15kWh system with SH6.0RS inverter, Alternergy, 2026-09-17
- SBH 40kWh system with SH15T inverter, Alternergy, 2026-09-17
- SHT hybrid inverter wins VDE certification, Sungrow, 2026-03-25
- SBH100-400 high voltage battery, Sungrow, 2026-09-17
- SBH100-400 high voltage battery, Sungrow, 2026-09-17
- SBH battery accessory kit, Alternergy, 2026-09-17
- Smart energy living with Sungrow, Sungrow, 2026-09-19
- SBH passes UL 9540B residential fire test, Sungrow, 2025-11-25

