Search

Hager Home Battery Storage Systems

Does Hager make a home battery, and if so what does it cost and what warranty comes with it? Those are the questions people ask most, and the honest answer is that no Hager home battery details are confirmed.

Hager's home battery range at a glance, who Hager is and what that means for a UK household, battery capacity and power ratings, warranty terms, installation and pairing with solar, and what owning one means for energy independence.

A tall white home battery unit standing as the centrepiece on a table, with blank warranty paperwork, a pen and a closed laptop beside it, suggesting a household checking a manufacturer's documentation before buying.
In this guide
  1. Hager Home Battery Range
  2. Who Hager Is
  3. Capacity and Power Ratings
  4. Warranty Terms
  5. Installation and Solar Pairing
  6. Cost and Price Drivers
  7. Energy Independence
  8. Information Gaps

Hager is a long-established name in UK electrical distribution, and householders researching a "hager battery" are usually trying to establish whether the company sells a home battery, what it costs, and what the warranty covers. The verified position is that no Hager home battery product facts are available: no capacity, no power rating, no warranty term, no price and no UK support contact. What can be set out with confidence is the general framework a household should apply to any home battery purchase, and the questions to put to an installer about a Hager system specifically.

The general figures are well established. Independent guidance puts a typical home system at 10 kWh of capacity1, and official guidance puts domestic battery storage at a lifetime of around 10 to 15 years, shorter than solar panels2. Official statistics describe batteries, both domestic and grid-scale, storing electricity for up to eight hours3. On cost, independent guidance gives 8 to 10 kWh batteries a battery-only price of £2,800 to £4,500 and an installed price of £4,500 to £7,000, as at March 20264.

Hager's home battery range at a glance

No Hager home battery range can be described from the available information. There is no capacity figure, no power rating, no model name, no warranty term and no published price for a Hager battery. A householder who has seen the Hager name on a consumer unit, a distribution board or an EV charge point should not assume that the same company sells a domestic battery, and should not rely on any specification found outside the manufacturer's own documentation.

What is documented about Hager is its activity in electrical components rather than storage. Hager LTD issued a UKCA Declaration of Conformity for its MCB product lines on 12 November 2025, declaring conformity under UK legislation and specified standards5. In March 2026 the company announced that its MCB Commercial Platform range incorporates recycled material developed with LATI, following a transition to recycled plastic for that platform implemented from September 20255. That is a components business pursuing a circular-economy route, not a documented home battery line.

For a household, the practical consequence is that any Hager battery claim should be verified against the manufacturer's own UK documentation before money changes hands. Where a specification cannot be produced, the safe assumption is that it does not exist in a form a buyer can rely on. The general range of what a home battery does is covered in the home battery storage guide, and the differences between system architectures are set out in AC-coupled and DC-coupled home batteries.

A plain wall-mounted home battery unit in a garage, shown beside a consumer unit and an inverter fixed to the same wall, with an isometric installer figure checking the cabling between the three units.
A home battery installation sits alongside the existing consumer unit and inverter. Image: Illustration

Who Hager is and what that means for a UK household

A printed UKCA declaration of conformity document lying on an office desk, shown as a physical sheet with a plain header band and blank lines where the issuing company, product lines and standards would appear, with a pen beside it.
A declaration of conformity document for electrical components

Hager's documented UK activity is in electrical components and conformity work. The UKCA Declaration of Conformity issued by Hager LTD on 12 November 2025 covers MCB product lines under UK legislation and specified standards5, and the company's recycled-material MCB platform was announced in March 20265. This is the profile of a components manufacturer with a UK legal entity and a compliance function, which matters for a household because it means there is a UK corporate presence to deal with, but it says nothing about domestic storage products.

The wider market context is that home batteries are now a mainstream domestic product. Independent guidance describes home storage batteries as storing electricity for use later, making an energy system more independent from the National Grid6. Official guidance notes that the average UK household already has many rechargeable items containing lithium ion batteries, including laptops, mobile phones, e-scooters, e-cigarettes and mobility vehicles7, so the chemistry is familiar even where the product is not.

For a household weighing a Hager system, the questions that matter are the ones any buyer should ask: who manufactures the cells, who provides the inverter, what the warranty guarantees in writing, who honours it in the UK, and what happens if the company exits the market. A UK legal entity and a conformity declaration are useful signals of an established business, but they are not a substitute for a product warranty document naming the battery.

Battery capacity and power ratings: what the numbers mean

Capacity and power are the two numbers that decide what a battery can do, and they are frequently confused. Capacity is measured in kilowatt hours and describes how much energy the battery holds; independent guidance puts a typical home system at 10 kWh1. Power, measured in kilowatts, describes how fast energy can be moved in or out, and it is the figure that determines whether a battery can run a heat pump, an EV charger or a whole house at once.

Duration follows from the two together. Official statistics describe batteries, both domestic and grid-scale, storing electricity for up to eight hours3. A battery rated at 10 kWh and able to discharge at a rate that empties it over eight hours is a different proposition from one that empties in two, even though the capacity figure is identical. The relationship between nominal capacity, usable capacity and depth of discharge is set out in battery capacity and usable capacity, and the rate limits are covered in battery power ratings and C-rate.

For a household, the practical test is to ask what the battery will actually run and for how long. A 10 kWh battery is a useful benchmark1, but the usable figure is lower than the nominal one, and the discharge rate caps what can be drawn at any moment. Efficiency losses between charge and discharge reduce the delivered energy further, which is covered in round-trip efficiency. None of these figures can be stated for a Hager product, because none are available.

MeasureUnitWhat it tells a householdTypical figure
CapacitykWhHow much energy is stored10 kWh typical home system1
DurationhoursHow long the store lastsup to eight hours3
LifetimeyearsHow long the battery is expected to servearound 10 to 15 years2

Warranty terms and what they cover

A simplified isometric figure sits at a table beside a wall-mounted home battery, filling in a warranty registration form shown as a physical sheet with blank lines and plain blocks, with a pen in hand to suggest prompt completion after commissioning.
A warranty registration form beside a home battery

No Hager battery warranty term is available, so the terms cannot be described. What can be described is the shape of a home battery warranty in the UK market and the conditions that typically attach to it. One maker's product page lists a 10-year product and installation warranty as included with its solar battery8. That is a single maker's term for its own product and is not a market standard, but it shows the order of magnitude that appears in the market.

Registration is the mechanism that activates many warranties. Scheme rules for a solar panel installation programme require inverter product registrations to activate guarantees and warranties to be completed within 48 hours of commissioning9. That is a scheme rule rather than a general legal requirement, but it illustrates how tight registration windows can be. Safety guidance for other electrical products advises registering the product so the manufacturer can make contact if there is a safety recall10, and a separate safety notice repeats that registration lets a manufacturer contact an owner to repair or replace if a problem arises11.

The conditions attached to a warranty matter as much as its length. Retained capacity, throughput limits, the requirement to use a registered installer, servicing obligations and exclusions for unauthorised work are all common. The general framework is set out in home battery warranties, and the underlying degradation behaviour is covered in battery cycle life and degradation.

Installation, compatibility and pairing with solar

Installation of a home battery is not a plug-in exercise. Maker guidance states that a hybrid inverter is required if a battery is being added12, which means the battery is part of a system rather than a standalone appliance. Pairing rules differ between new and older equipment: one maker specifies plug to plug connections when pairing a new inverter with a new battery, and lug to lug when connecting an inverter to an older battery12. Some systems avoid the question by integrating the storage inverter and the battery in a single unit, combining the functions of DC- and AC-coupled solutions12.

Insurance-backed guarantees are a further installation condition. Providing an insurance-backed guarantee for a solar PV and/or electrical energy storage system installation is mandatory, while providing one for an EV charge point only installation is optional13. That places storage installations in a stricter category than charge points alone.

Solar pairing is the common configuration. Independent guidance describes a home battery capturing surplus solar energy for later use, including overnight EV charging, whereas without a battery unused solar electricity is wasted or exported to the grid, often at a relatively low rate14. Independent guidance also describes combining solar panels with a home battery to store renewable electricity to power a heat pump, making the household less reliant on grid electricity15. The installation process itself is covered in home battery installation, and the standards that govern it are in battery installation standards.

A cutaway house wall showing a hybrid inverter mounted indoors with cables running up to rooftop solar panels, down to a floor-standing battery beside it, and across to the household consumer unit.
A hybrid inverter links the solar array, the battery and the household circuits. Image: Illustration

Cost and what drives the price

No Hager battery price is available, so no figure can be given for a Hager system. The market figures that do exist are indicative. Independent guidance gives 8 to 10 kWh batteries a battery-only price of £2,800 to £4,500 and an installed price of £4,500 to £7,000, as at March 20264. Case study data from the same period records a 10 kWh battery at a £4,000 measure cost in two separate cases, and a 5 kWh battery at a £2,250 measure cost in a third16.

The gap between battery-only and installed price is the labour, the inverter, the electrical work, the mounting and the certification. Three things move a quote most: the capacity chosen, whether the system is being added to existing solar or installed from scratch, and whether backup capability is included. A larger battery costs more in cells but the installation labour does not scale in proportion, which is why the installed price per kWh falls as capacity rises.

VAT treatment is not stated in these figures, so they should be read as quoted rather than as confirmed VAT-inclusive prices. The general cost picture is set out in how much does a home battery cost, and the arithmetic behind payback is covered in home battery savings and payback.

System sizeBattery-only priceInstalled priceSource basis
8 to 10 kWh£2,800 to £4,500£4,500 to £7,000Independent guidance, March 20264
10 kWhnot stated£4,000 measure costCase study data16
5 kWhnot stated£2,250 measure costCase study data16

What owning a Hager battery means for energy independence

A wall-mounted home battery unit indoors in a utility room, connected by cabling to a consumer unit and an inverter, with a simplified isometric figure of a householder looking at it, showing stored electricity feeding the home's circuits.
A home battery unit on a wall indoors

A home battery's contribution to independence is real but bounded. Independent guidance describes home storage batteries as storing electricity for use later, making an energy system more independent from the National Grid6. Independent guidance states that a home battery is most worthwhile if a household wants backup power, does not have full-retail export rates, or can access cheap overnight charging tariffs17. Those three conditions describe the situations where a battery changes the household's position rather than simply shifting when electricity is bought.

The dependence that remains is substantial. A battery charged from the grid still depends on a supplier and on a tariff that makes overnight charging cheap. A battery paired with solar reduces grid import but does not remove the connection, and solar output varies: independent guidance notes that solar panels do not need direct sunlight and can generate electricity on cloudy days18, that they do not require full sunlight, just light19, and that they can work year-round even without consistent direct sunlight20. At night they do not work at all20. A battery bridges that gap but does not eliminate it.

Backup capability is the sharpest limit. Independent guidance is explicit that not all systems are suitable for power cuts, and that a householder should ask the installer whether the battery will work in a power outage and for how long6. Without that confirmation, a battery may be a tariff-optimisation device rather than a resilience one. The wider picture is set out in home batteries and household energy independence and battery backup in a power cut.

"If you're looking to protect yourself against power cuts with a home battery, not all systems are suitable."
Which?, independent guidance6

Where the information runs out

The honest position on a Hager home battery is that the available information does not support a product page. There is no capacity, no power rating, no warranty term, no price, no serial number location, no registration process and no UK support contact. A householder who needs those facts should obtain them from the manufacturer's own UK documentation or from the installer's written quotation, and should treat any figure that cannot be traced to those sources as unverified.

The general framework still applies. A typical home system is around 10 kWh1, domestic battery storage lasts around 10 to 15 years2, storage duration runs to up to eight hours3, and 8 to 10 kWh systems carry a battery-only price of £2,800 to £4,500 and an installed price of £4,500 to £7,000 as at March 20264. A hybrid inverter is required if a battery is being added12, and an insurance-backed guarantee is mandatory for a storage installation13.

For a household, the questions to settle before committing are the ones the market data cannot answer for a specific product: what the usable capacity is, what the power rating allows, what the warranty guarantees in writing and who honours it, whether backup is included, and what the registration deadline is. Where a manufacturer cannot answer those in writing, the risk sits with the buyer.

Sources20 cited
  1. Battery storage, Energy Saving Trust, 2026-08-19
  2. POSTnote 771: Electricity storage, UK Parliament, 2026-06-25
  3. Statutory security of supply report 2025, GOV.UK, 2025-12-17
  4. Balancing investment in clean heat and energy efficiency in Scottish housing retrofit, ClimateXChange, 2026
  5. Hager LATI collaboration on MCB circular economy, Hager, 2026-03-12
  6. Solar panel battery storage, Which?, 2026-05-14
  7. Lithium-ion batteries, North Wales Fire and Rescue Service, 2026
  8. Solar battery, Hive, 2026-09-17
  9. Barcud Solar Panel Installation Scheme Specification, Sell2Wales, 2026-06-15
  10. Portable heaters, Electrical Safety First, 2026-09-17
  11. Comment on Ofgem energy price cap announcement, Electrical Safety First, 2026-09-19
  12. Solar power for your home, BLUETTI UK, 2026-08-06
  13. How EPVS and Flexi-Orb are improving the standard of renewable energy installations, EPVS, 2026-09-17
  14. Can solar panels charge electric cars?, The CPA, 2026-04-15
  15. How to ensure a heat pump runs efficiently, Energy Saving Trust, 2026-05-19
  16. Clean heat: supporting low-income households, Energy UK, 2026-06-11
  17. Solar battery storage guide: is a home battery worth it?, IAA, 2026-09-20
  18. Generating renewable electricity, Energy Saving Trust, 2025-12-11
  19. Solar panels, Oxfordshire County Council, 2026-09-17
  20. Do solar panels work in winter?, Uswitch, 2026-09-15

Questions

Answers here, and more on their own pages.

How do I register my Hager battery for warranty?

No Hager battery warranty registration process appears in the available information, so no Hager-specific steps can be given. The general principle for registered products is that registration lets a manufacturer contact an owner if a safety issue arises, and scheme rules elsewhere require inverter product registrations to be completed within 48 hours of commissioning to activate guarantees and warranties. A householder buying any battery should confirm the registration route and deadline with the seller in writing.

Where is the serial number on a Hager battery?

No Hager battery serial number location is documented in the available information. Serial number practice varies by product: some batteries carry brand stickers and a model number label on the outer case, and recall notices have identified affected units by digits in the last four of the serial number. For any battery, the serial number is normally on the unit's label and repeated in the handover paperwork.

Can a Hager battery work without solar panels?

No Hager-specific answer is available. In general, a home battery can be charged from the grid on a cheap overnight tariff rather than from solar, and independent guidance describes charging stopping when the battery is full and discharging when the next cheap tariff period ends, automatically. Whether a particular battery supports grid charging without solar depends on the inverter and system design, which an installer confirms.

How long does a Hager home battery last?

No Hager battery lifespan figure is available. Official guidance puts domestic battery storage at a shorter lifetime than solar panels, at around 10 to 15 years. Official statistics describe batteries, both domestic and grid-scale, storing electricity for up to eight hours. Actual life depends on cycle depth, temperature and how the system is used, and warranties usually set a retained capacity rather than a calendar term alone.

What happens during a power cut with a Hager battery installed?

No Hager backup specification is available. Independent guidance is clear that not all home battery systems are suitable for power cuts, and that a householder should ask the installer whether the battery will work in a power outage and for how long. Backup generally requires additional equipment beyond the battery itself, so it should be confirmed at the survey stage rather than assumed.

How do I contact Hager support in the UK?

No Hager UK support contact details appear in the available information, so none can be given here. Contact details should come from the installer's handover pack or the manufacturer's own UK website. Where a product is subject to a recall or safety notice, guidance is to contact the seller for redress. Keeping the installer's details and the commissioning paperwork is the practical route to support.

Does a Hager battery need a specific inverter?

No Hager inverter compatibility information is available. In general terms, maker guidance states a hybrid inverter is required if a battery is being added, and pairing rules differ between new and older batteries: one maker specifies plug to plug connections when pairing a new inverter with a new battery, and lug to lug when connecting an inverter to an older battery. Compatibility is confirmed by the installer against the specific models.