Search

Aqara vs SONOFF for energy monitoring

Which smart home kit should you pick to track your electricity at home without spending much? Which one works with the app and setup you already have? Which makes it easier to see what your solar panels are making?

Here you can compare Aqara and SONOFF side by side, see what each brand costs, check how their apps work with your setup, and work out which one suits your home.

A small tabletop arrangement with a white smart plug and a compact smart home hub placed side by side on a table, next to a smartphone with a blank screen showing where consumption data would appear.
In this comparison
  1. Aqara vs SONOFF at a Glance
  2. Makers Behind Each Brand
  3. Ecosystem and App Fit
  4. Price and Promotions
  5. Security and Firmware Support
  6. Best for UK Energy Monitoring

Aqara and SONOFF both sell the hardware a household needs to see where its electricity goes, and both do it at the budget end of the market. The difference is not really about which one measures better. It is about how each brand expects your data to travel: SONOFF leans on its eWeLink app and a growing set of Matter and Zigbee devices that can run locally, while Aqara builds a hub-centred ecosystem that presents itself to Apple Home, Google Home and Amazon Alexa.

On the monitoring side, SONOFF's range is unusually wide for the money. The MINI ONE PM switch monitors energy flow in both directions, tracking device consumption and solar generation1, and the same bidirectional metering appears on the Zigbee version2. The POW Origin reports power, current, voltage and total energy consumption in real time3, the S60 series plug shows daily, monthly and yearly cumulative consumption4, and the iPlug Gen2 S61STPB adds runtime and data export5. Aqara's energy story is narrower and more climate-led: its Energy Saver Pack bundles a Radiator Thermostat E1, Presence Sensor FP2, Hub M2 and Temperature and Humidity Sensor T16.

Aqara vs SONOFF at a glance

The two brands overlap on plugs, relays and sensors, but they are not interchangeable. SONOFF's monitoring devices are mostly self-contained: a plug, a DIN rail switch or an inline relay that reports to the eWeLink app. Aqara's monitoring is usually one function inside a broader home system built around a hub.

AqaraSONOFF
Founded2016, offices in New York and Shenzhen7Not stated in the material reviewed
CustomersMore than 5 million worldwide, per the maker7Not stated
Retail presenceMore than 600 Aqara stores opened7Own regional stores, including a UK storefront
EcosystemApple Home, Google Home, Amazon Alexa6Apple Home, Google Home, Alexa, SmartThings, Home Assistant via Matter9
Energy focusClimate control, radiator thermostats, presence sensing6Bidirectional metering, appliance monitoring, DIN rail switching1
Local controlHub-basedS61s Outdoor usable without internet access via local control10

The practical consequence is that a household wanting appliance-level monitoring with solar awareness will find more ready-made options in SONOFF's catalogue, while a household already invested in Apple Home or Alexa and wanting climate control alongside monitoring will find Aqara's bundles more coherent. Neither brand publishes a UK price on the pages reviewed here, so costs are installer-quoted or retailer-quoted rather than fixed.

A small smart plug and a compact inline relay sit side by side on a worktop, each with a short cable, while a simplified figure holds a phone whose screen shows a plain energy graph of bars and a line.
Both brands put consumption data on a phone app, but the hardware behind it differs. Image: Illustration

The makers behind each brand

A small smart home hub, a plain rounded box with a small indicator light, sitting on a household shelf among ordinary objects, shown as the device both brands' products depend on for full function.
A smart home hub on a shelf

Aqara states it was founded in 2016 and describes itself as a leading smart home provider with offices in New York and Shenzhen7. The same press material claims more than 5 million customers worldwide and more than 600 Aqara stores opened7. Those are the company's own figures, dated 2023, and they describe the position at that time rather than today. Aqara's product direction has since moved into security and climate: it announced the Camera Hub G350 and Doorbell Camera G400 (Wired) in March 2026, and unveiled the UWB-powered Smart Lock U400 at CES 2026 for the US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Singapore7.

SONOFF's public material reviewed here does not state a founding date, a customer count or a company structure. What it does publish is a security advisory, SONOFFCVE-2026-001, covering CVE-2019-9506, a KNOB vulnerability affecting NSPanel Pro firmware v4.2.3 and before, with the resolution being an upgrade to firmware v4.4.0 and above8. That advisory is dated 2 October 2026 and is the clearest signal of how the company handles a known flaw: it names the affected firmware, the CVE and the fix.

For a household, the maker matters less than the exit route. Aqara's devices depend on an Aqara hub and account for full function. SONOFF's depend on eWeLink for cloud features, though several models keep working locally. Neither brand is a UK utility or a regulated metering provider, so neither carries the obligations a smart meter supplier does.

Ecosystem and app: where each brand fits

SONOFF's compatibility list is broad and explicit. The Orb Socket supports Apple Home, Amazon Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings and Home Assistant via Matter9, and the S61s Outdoor plug connects to Apple Home, Google Home and Alexa through Matter10. The POWR3 works with Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant, SmartThings and Alice11. The NSPanel Pro supports voice control via Alexa and Google Home12.

Aqara's compatibility is stated at bundle level. The Energy Saver Pack is described as widely compatible with third-party ecosystems such as Apple Home, Google Home and Amazon Alexa6, and the Smart Curtain Controller lists Amazon Alexa, Apple Home and Google Home13. Aqara's Smart Plug guidance notes that the European version provides the same features for European outlets14.

The app is where the two diverge most. SONOFF's eWeLink app carries the monitoring history: the S60ZBTPF plug shows real-time and historical consumption with history by hour, day and month4, and the POWR3 tracks active power, voltage and current directly in the app11. Aqara's app manages its hub, sensors and climate devices as one system.

That is a real limitation for anyone expecting full statistics in Apple Home. Matter carries the device, but the energy data may not follow it into every platform.

Price and promotions: what to expect

Neither brand publishes a UK price on the pages reviewed here, so any figure a household sees will be retailer-quoted or installer-quoted rather than a manufacturer's list price. What the material does show is a promotional rhythm.

SONOFF ran a Christmas sale from 19 to 31 December 2025 with up to 35% off selected products and quantity-based extra discounts16. A Valentine's Day promotion ran from 2 to 15 February 2026, offering a buy-two discount with code VADA12 across the official store17. Individual product pages also carry standing reductions, such as 13% off the SNZB-02D sensor18.

The pattern is a discount calendar tied to retail events rather than to energy market conditions. A household buying several devices at once is more likely to benefit from a bundle promotion than from a single-unit discount, and the quantity-based extra discounts in the Christmas sale point the same way16.

It is worth separating the cost of the monitoring hardware from the cost of acting on what it shows. A smart time of use tariff, which is what makes half-hourly consumption data financially useful, is offered by British Gas, E.ON Next, EDF Energy, Octopus Energy, Ovo Energy and Scottish Power, as well as smaller firms including 100Green, Fuse Energy, Good Energy and So Energy19. The hardware is the cheap part; the tariff is where the money moves.

A hand holding a smartphone displaying a smart home store page with a promotional discount banner across the top and a product listing below showing a small standing reduction, set against a plain domestic background.
SONOFF promotions cluster around Christmas and Valentine's Day, with standing discounts on individual sensors. Image: Illustration

Security updates and firmware support

A Sonoff S61s outdoor smart plug with orange top shown against a garden background with hanging festoon bulbs
A smart plug suitable for outdoor use Image: sonoff.tech

Firmware support is the part of a budget ecosystem that decides whether the hardware is still worth having in five years. SONOFF's published advisory is the strongest evidence available here: SONOFFCVE-2026-001 covers CVE-2019-9506, affecting NSPanel Pro firmware v4.2.3 and before, resolved by upgrading to firmware v4.4.0 and above8. The company also flags a firmware issue on the NSPanel Pro Gen2, where devices running factory firmware v4.4.3 may experience delayed updates for time or weather information, with an over-the-air update recommended20.

The S61s Outdoor plug shows how firmware gates features rather than just fixing bugs. Energy statistics need firmware 1.0.5 or later, and "Energy Consumption" data on Samsung SmartThings and Home Assistant needs V1.0.6 or above10. Bidirectional metering on that model is not yet available and is expected in Q315.

Data retention is handled differently across the range. The MINI ONE PM stores energy data locally when offline in eWeLink and re-synchronises when back online, with no storage when completely powered off1. The SNZB-02P sensor includes up to 6 months of free cloud storage21. The AirGuard TH reports at a default 5 second interval, adjustable from 5 seconds to 1 hour when a value changes22, and the SNZB-02P reports at least once every 60 minutes when nothing changes21.

For a household, the test is simple: check whether the model you are considering has a published firmware version and a route to update it. Aqara's material reviewed here does not include a comparable security advisory.

Which suits a UK energy-monitoring setup

The choice turns on what the household wants to measure and how much it wants to depend on a manufacturer's cloud.

SONOFF fits appliance-level and circuit-level monitoring well. The MINI ONE PM tracks consumption and solar generation in both directions1, the POW Origin reports power, current, voltage and total energy consumption3, and the Basic DIN Rail switch tracks voltage, current, power and energy with cost calculation and data export23. That DIN rail model carries a condition worth noting: energy monitoring is only available when the load neutral wire is connected to the Basic DIN Rail output neutral terminal24. Get the wiring wrong and the monitoring simply does not work.

Aqara fits a climate-led setup. Its Energy Saver Pack pairs a radiator thermostat, presence sensor, hub and temperature sensor6, and the company has added a smart radiator thermostat to its portfolio7. That is a system for managing heat and presence, with monitoring as a supporting function rather than the main event.

For a household thinking about independence, the honest position is that both brands reduce dependence on the supplier's own reporting and increase dependence on a manufacturer's app and account. SONOFF's local control on the S61s Outdoor plug, usable without internet access10, and its offline data storage on the MINI ONE PM1, are the features that push in the independent direction. Aqara's hub model centralises function in a device the household does not control.

Where a home already has solar and battery, the monitoring question sits alongside the inverter's own platform. A whole-home system such as the SOFAR PowerAll, an integrated residential energy storage product composed of a single-phase hybrid inverter and a high voltage battery module, offers remote real-time monitoring and management through SOFAR Monitor25. In that case a plug-level system is a supplement, not the main instrument.

For a wider view of how these devices sit alongside meter data, see home energy management systems and smart plugs and appliance-level energy monitoring. Households comparing hub options may also find Aqara Hub M3 and SONOFF iHost useful, and the Zigbee, Matter, Thread and KNX page explains the protocol differences that decide which platform sees your energy data.

Sources25 cited
  1. SONOFF MINI ONE PM Matter Over WiFi Smart Switch, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  2. SONOFF MINI ONE PM Zigbee Smart Switch, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  3. SONOFF POW Origin Smart Power Meter Switch, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  4. SONOFF iPlug Zigbee Smart Plug S60 Series, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  5. SONOFF S61S Matter Type B Smart Plug, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  6. Aqara Energy Saver Pack, Aqara, 2023-12-05
  7. Aqara Adds a Smart Radiator Thermostat to its Product Portfolio, Aqara, 2023-06-08
  8. Security Advisory: KNOB Attack Vulnerability, SONOFF, 2026-10-02
  9. SONOFF Orb Socket Matter Over WiFi Smart Wall Socket, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  10. SONOFF S61s Outdoor Type F Matter Smart Plug, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  11. SONOFF POWR3 High Power Smart Switch, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  12. SONOFF NSPanel Pro Smart Home Control Panel 86 Type, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  13. Aqara Smart Curtain Controller, Aqara, 2024-06-03
  14. How to Climate Control Your Home, Aqara, 2024-05-14
  15. SONOFF S61s Outdoor Type F Matter Smart Plug (EU), SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  16. SONOFF 2025 Christmas Sale, SONOFF, 2025-12-19
  17. SONOFF Valentine's Day 2026, SONOFF, 2026-02-02
  18. SONOFF SNZB-02D Zigbee LCD Temperature and Humidity Sensor, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  19. Time of Use Tariffs Explained, Which?, 2026-04-23
  20. SONOFF NSPanel Pro Gen2 Dual Channel Relay Smart Home Control Panel, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  21. SONOFF Zigbee Temperature and Humidity Sensor SNZB-02P, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  22. SONOFF AirGuard TH Zigbee Temperature and Humidity Sensor, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  23. SONOFF Basic DIN Rail Matter Over WiFi Smart Switch, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  24. SONOFF Basic DIN Rail Zigbee Smart Switch, SONOFF, 2026-09-20
  25. SOFAR PowerAll Residential Energy Storage System, SOFAR Solar, 2026-09-19

Questions

Answers here, and more on their own pages.

Is Aqara compatible with Apple HomeKit and other hubs?

Aqara states that its Energy Saver Pack is widely compatible with third-party ecosystems such as Apple Home, Google Home and Amazon Alexa. Its Smart Curtain Controller lists Amazon Alexa, Apple Home and Google Home. Aqara devices generally pair through an Aqara hub, which then exposes them to those platforms, so the hub is the bridge rather than the individual sensor.

How long has Aqara been making smart home devices?

Aqara states it was founded in 2016, with offices in New York and Shenzhen. That makes it a younger company than many established smart home brands, though it has expanded quickly, opening more than 600 Aqara stores and building a product range that now covers sensors, hubs, plugs, curtain controllers and radiator thermostats.

Where can I buy Aqara and SONOFF products in the UK?

Aqara's own Energy Saver Pack page points UK buyers to aqara-shop.co.uk. SONOFF sells through its own regional store, including a UK storefront, and its products also reach UK buyers through third-party marketplaces and electrical wholesalers. Availability of specific models varies, and some SONOFF listings are for European or other regional versions rather than UK stock.

Does SONOFF issue security advisories for its devices?

Yes. SONOFF published advisory SONOFFCVE-2026-001 covering CVE-2019-9506, a KNOB vulnerability affecting NSPanel Pro firmware v4.2.3 and before, with the resolution being to upgrade to firmware v4.4.0 and above. That is a published, dated advisory with a stated fix, which is the minimum a household should expect from a connected device maker.

When do SONOFF sales and promotions usually run?

SONOFF runs promotions around the standard retail calendar. A Christmas sale ran from 19 to 31 December 2025 with up to 35% off selected products, and a Valentine's Day promotion ran from 2 to 15 February 2026 with a buy-two discount code. Individual product pages also carry standing discounts, such as 13% off the SNZB-02D sensor.

How many customers does Aqara have worldwide?

Aqara states it serves more than 5 million customers worldwide, and that it has opened more than 600 Aqara stores. Both figures come from the company's own press material dated 2023, so they describe the position at that time rather than today, and they are the maker's own count rather than an independently audited number.

Do Aqara and SONOFF devices need the cloud to work?

It varies by model. SONOFF states that its S61s Outdoor plug can be used with local control even without internet access, and that the MINI ONE PM stores energy data locally when offline and re-synchronises when back online. Aqara devices typically rely on an Aqara hub and account. Local control reduces dependence on a manufacturer's servers.