In this guide
Fogstar is a UK battery supplier, established in 2016, that sells direct to householders rather than through a retail network1.
Every product in the range uses LiFePO4 chemistry, and the company states that it only ships within the UK, with customer service and technical support teams based in the UK2. That combination, a UK-only sales channel and a UK support base, is the core of what the brand offers a household looking at backup power.
Fogstar: a UK lithium battery supplier and what it sells
Fogstar began trading in 2016 and describes itself as a UK operation, with batteries designed and engineered in the UK and a dedicated UK-based support team behind the Drift range1. The company sells directly through its own website, which is why the product pages carry the specification detail a household would otherwise have to ask an installer for.
The catalogue has three distinct layers. At the smallest end are cylindrical cells, with the company stocking 18650, 20700, 21700 and 26650 models for DIY builders1. Above that sit the finished products: portable power stations, Drift leisure batteries for vehicles and off-grid systems, and the Fogstar Energy range of 48V modular storage aimed at home and light commercial installations34.
Stock availability is uneven across the range. The Energy server rack battery, by contrast, is listed in stock28. For a household planning around a specific model, that matters: the specification may be published while the unit is not currently orderable.
Fogstar also sells accessories, including insulators and battery brackets, and publishes support material on rewrapping batteries2. The company runs a separate wholesale operation with its own website and a named wholesale manager for trade enquiries2.

Portable power stations: 1488Wh, 2232Wh and 3072Wh compared

The portable range is built around LiFePO4 cells and covers five capacities.
| Model | Capacity | Battery voltage | Peak or boost output | USB-C output | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smaller portable unit | 1488Wh34 | Not stated | Not stated | 140W max34 | Not stated |
| Mid portable unit | Not stated | 51.2V3 | Not stated | 100W PD3 | Not stated |
| 2232Wh unit | 2232Wh4 | 48V4 | 2600W boost4 | 140W PD4 | 3 years4 |
| 3072Wh unit | 3072Wh5 | 51.2V5 | 7000W peak5 | 100W PD5 | Not stated |
Output figures of this kind describe short surges, not sustained draw. A household reading a peak rating should treat it as the momentary headroom for a motor or compressor starting, not as the continuous load the station will carry.
That expansion route is the bridge between the portable range and the fixed storage line.
Drift leisure batteries: 12V and 48V ranges and what each suits
The Drift range is the part of the catalogue aimed at vehicles, boats and off-grid systems, and it is where the published prices sit. The 12V 100Ah is listed at £279.99 with 1200Wh of energy and a nominal voltage of 12.8V9. The 48V 125Ah starts from £969.998.
| Battery | Nominal voltage | Price | Series limit | Parallel limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Drift 100Ah | 12.8V9 | £279.999 | 4 in series, 48V max9 | 49 |
| Drift 230Ah | 12V10 | £499.9910 | 4 in series, 48V max10 | Not stated |
| Drift 300Ah | Not stated | £649.99 | 4 in series, 48V max | 16 |
| Drift 460Ah | Not stated | Not stated | 4 in series, 48V max11 | 1611 |
| Drift Gen2 230Ah (higher-voltage variant) | Not stated | Not stated | 2 in series, 48V12 | 1612 |
| Drift Gen2 300Ah (higher-voltage variant) | Not stated | Not stated | 2 in series, 48V13 | 1613 |
| Drift 125Ah | 48V8 | from £969.998 | Not stated | Not stated |
The series limits are the practical constraint. Parallel connection is where capacity grows: several 12V models allow up to sixteen batteries in parallel, which raises amp-hour capacity while holding the voltage steady11.
The ECO variants add Bluetooth monitoring through the free Fogstar Drift app on Android and iOS, and carry a 6-year warranty14. The 12V 300Ah also lists Bluetooth monitoring through the same app. The ECO 12V 460Ah is housed in an IP67-rated case16.

Chemistry and charging: LiFePO4 cells and dedicated chargers
That chemistry choice is the reason the published charging voltages sit where they do: the Drift 12V 100Ah lists a charging voltage of 14.4V, and the Drift 12V 460Ah lists the same recommended charge voltage9.
Fogstar sells chargers matched to its own batteries rather than leaving the household to source one.
For a household, the chemistry and the charger range together mean the charging side is largely self-contained: the maker publishes the voltage, sells a matching charger, and states the compatibility. What it does not do is remove the need to match charger to battery correctly, which is where the unattended-use warning bites.
Scalability and home storage: expansion packs and the 32kWh battery
The Fogstar Energy line is the fixed storage side of the catalogue, and it is built around 48V modular stacks. The 64.4kWh stack itself allows further stacks to be added at any stage, which the maker describes as suited to phased installations or growing energy requirements21.
| System | Usable capacity | Expansion | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| 16.1kWh 48V battery | Not stated | Up to 15 in parallel26 | 10 years26 |
| 16.1kWh expansion module | Not stated | 16.1kWh to 64.4kWh20 | Not stated |
| 32.2kWh modular stack | 32.2kWh22 | To 64.4kWh22 | Not stated |
| 32kWh battery | 32kWh24 | Up to 16 in parallel24 | 6 years, 10 years support24 |
| 48V 32kWh battery | Not stated | Up to 16 units25 | Not stated |
| 64.4kWh stack | Not stated | Additional stacks at any stage21 | 6 years21 |
Safety features are built into the larger units.
Customer service and technical support for the Energy range are based in the UK32.

Authenticity, batch testing and quality control
The published material on quality control is thinner than the specification detail. Fogstar describes an award-winning engineering team behind the Drift Gen2 range and states that its batteries are designed and engineered in the UK10. The Energy range is described as backed by 10 years of UK-based customer service support on several products21.
Those are the components that govern how a bank behaves under fault conditions.
The company also publishes a battery rewrapping guide and sells insulators through its accessories collection, which points to a repair and rebuild culture around the cells rather than a sealed-unit-only approach2. The 12V DIY kit is the clearest expression of that: it is sold as a case and BMS only, with the maker stating that users should have a solid understanding of electrical systems and components before attempting to build their own battery29.
That is a maker's own condition rather than an independent assessment, and it is the honest framing: the DIY route is offered, and the competence requirement is stated plainly.
Delivery, returns and storage guidance

Fogstar states that it only ships within the UK at this time, so there is no overseas delivery route2. Customer service and technical support are UK-based, and the Drift ECO batteries list UK-based customer support as a feature14. Wholesale enquiries run through a separate address and a dedicated wholesale website, with a named wholesale manager2.
Warranty terms vary by product rather than following a single policy. The Drift ECO 12V 314Ah and 460Ah both carry a 6-year warranty14. The Energy ECO 48V 16.1kWh solar battery carries a 6-year manufacturer's warranty backed by 10 years of Fogstar customer support28. Chargers carry a 2-year manufacturer's warranty19.
Storage guidance is specific. Fogstar states that batteries are best stored with around 40% charge on them, and should be fully charged before use2.
What owning Fogstar kit means for UK energy independence
The independence case for Fogstar kit rests on where the hardware and the support sit. The company ships only within the UK, its support teams are UK-based, and its batteries are described as designed and engineered in the UK2. For a household, that shortens the route between a fault and a person who can answer for it.
What the kit does not do is remove dependence. A portable power station still needs charging from the mains, from solar or from a vehicle, so it is a store of energy rather than a source of it3. A Drift leisure battery in a vehicle or off-grid system still depends on a charger, and the maker's own instruction is not to leave that charger unattended18. The Energy home storage range depends on an inverter and on the wider system it is wired into, and the larger stacks depend on the maker's monitoring and support arrangements21.
The DIY route is the most independent and the most demanding. The 12V DIY kit is sold as a case and BMS only, with a metal case, recessed terminals and an on/off switch, and the maker states the competence requirement plainly29. It is listed at £120.00, with an original price of £150.00 shown on the same page, and the two figures are not reconciled29. The kit is listed as sold out29.
For a household weighing backup power options, Fogstar sits in the direct-sale, UK-supported part of the market, with published specifications and prices on the product pages and a chemistry that is consistent across the range. The limits are the UK-only shipping, the stock gaps on several lines, and the fact that every product still needs an external source of charge. Wider context on how storage fits into a household backup plan is at backup power for UK homes, and the general principles of portable storage are covered in portable power stations.
Sources34 cited
- Fogstar batteries collection, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar FAQs, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar 2kWh portable power station, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar 2.2kWh portable power station, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar 3kWh portable power station, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar 5kWh portable power station, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar 2kWh expansion battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar lithium leisure battery collection, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Drift 12V 100Ah lithium leisure battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Drift 12V 230Ah lithium leisure battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-20
- Fogstar Drift 12V 460Ah lithium leisure battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-20
- Fogstar Drift Gen2 24V 230Ah lithium leisure battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Drift Gen2 24V 300Ah lithium leisure battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Drift ECO 12V 314Ah lithium leisure battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Drift Gen2 12V 300Ah lithium leisure battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Drift ECO 12V 460Ah lithium leisure battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Drift 12V 50A LiFePO4 charger, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Drift 24V 40A LiFePO4 charger, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Drift 12V 20A LiFePO4 charger, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy 16kWh modular battery stack expansion, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy 64.4kWh modular battery stack, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy 32.2kWh modular battery stack, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy 32.2kWh modular battery and inverter bundle, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy 32kWh 48V battery and inverter bundle, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy 48V 32kWh battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy 16.1kWh 48V battery and inverter bundle, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy 30kWh 51.2V rack glass cabinet battery bundle, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy SEPLOS 48V 16.1kWh solar battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy 12V DIY kit case and JK BMS, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar DIY products collection, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar Energy battery showdown for 48V off-grid setups, Fogstar, 2026-06-17
- Fogstar Energy collection, Fogstar, 2026-09-17
- How to re-wrap a battery, Fogstar, 2026-09-19
- Fogstar 1.5kWh portable power station, Fogstar, 2026-09-19


Fogstar Energy 16.1kWh BatteryHow much does the Fogstar Energy 16.1kWh battery cost, and is it good value for the storage you get?
Fogstar Energy Home BatteriesFogstar sells home batteries straight to UK householders, so what do the different sizes cost, and which one suits your home?






