SunPower Corporation, the US company that built the SunPower brand into a premium name in home solar, filed for relief under Chapter 11 of the US Bankruptcy Code on 6 August 20241. That is the fact UK owners need first, because it determines who stands behind a panel already on a roof. The answer is not SunPower Corporation. The panel manufacturing business is Maxeon Solar Technologies, spun off from SunPower in 2020, which states that it is a separate company, did not go bankrupt, and is a financially stable NASDAQ-listed company2.
For a UK household, the practical position is narrower than the headlines suggest. SunPower-branded premium panels remain available in the UK, supplied by Maxeon through premium MCS-certified installers, and the manufacturer-backed warranty is held with Maxeon rather than with the failed US entity2. Maxeon describes its flagship Maxeon line as carrying the longest warranty in solar at 40 years, covering power, product and service3.
What follows is the warranty position, the specifications behind it, the cost, and the limits a household should weigh before treating a 40-year promise as a 40-year certainty.
What SunPower and Maxeon offer in the UK
The UK route to a SunPower-branded panel runs through Maxeon. SunPower-branded premium panels are manufactured by Maxeon Solar Technologies and supplied in the UK through premium MCS-certified installers2. That matters for certification: an MCS-certified installer is the route by which a domestic installation qualifies for the standards and protections that go with the scheme, and it is also the route by which a warranty claim normally begins.
The brand has been sold in the UK since 2011, when SunPower panels first became available here, and the technology behind them is an all-back-contact cell, in which both the positive and negative electrical connections sit on the rear of the cell rather than on the front6. That design removes the busbars from the face of the panel, which is the basis of the efficiency claims the brand has traded on.
The corporate picture is more tangled than the product picture. SunPower Corporation declared bankruptcy in 20247. In 2025 the SunPower name was relaunched by Complete Solaria as a US dealer and installation platform, and SunPower also joined the TCL Group in 20252. Maxeon, meanwhile, has partnered with AlphaESS on integrated solar and storage10. For a UK household, the entity that matters for a panel warranty is Maxeon, not the relaunched US dealer brand.
Specifications: back contact cells and a 40-year headline
Maxeon's flagship claim is durability expressed as warranty length. The Maxeon line carries a 40-year warranty, described by the maker as the longest in solar3. The comprehensive 40-year warranty covers power, product and service provisions, and includes a 40-year warranty on workmanship and materials4. The warranted power output is 88.3% of the original power rating at year 40, and the power warranty promises no more than a 0.25% per year power drop4.
The Performance line sits below it. Maxeon Performance panels carry a comprehensive 30-year warranty covering power, product and service, subject to terms and conditions11. The latest generation of Performance panels carries a 25-year warranty if registration is not completed, so the longer term depends on the owner registering the product11.
| Line | Warranty | Warranted output | Annual decline limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Maxeon (flagship) | 40 years, power, product and service4 | 88.3% at year 404 | 0.25% per year5 |
| Maxeon Performance | 30 years, power, product and service11 | Not stated in the terms cited | Not stated in the terms cited |
| Maxeon Performance, unregistered | 25 years11 | Not stated in the terms cited | Not stated in the terms cited |
Maxeon's warranty documentation lists both a 25/25 year performance term for Performance panels and a 40/40 year term for Maxeon panels, and separate Maxeon pages describe both a 40-year and a 25-year warranty for the same product family7. The 40-year term is the one the maker leads with across its product and blog pages; the shorter figures appear in the formal warranty schedules. A household reading a warranty document should work from the schedule that names its exact model.

What the warranty covers, and what it does not

Maxeon states that all of its solar panel warranties include coverage for panel repair and replacement12, and that coverage runs for panel repair and replacement during the coverage period13. The 40-year comprehensive warranty adds continuous protection when a roof is replaced or a home is sold, which is the transferability provision that matters most on a long-lived product4.
The exclusions are as important as the cover. Maxeon produced many solar panels for SunPower with microinverters attached, and states that those microinverters were produced by another manufacturer and are not included in the warranty Maxeon issues5. A household with a SunPower system using microinverters therefore holds two separate warranties, one from Maxeon for the panel and one from the microinverter maker for the electronics. Microinverter makers publish their own warranty updates separately1.
The claim route runs through the installer. Maxeon's process is that the installer determines whether the issue is with the Maxeon solar panels or a different system component, and then completes a warranty claim for a replacement part5. That is a sensible division of labour while the installer is trading, and a point of friction if it is not.
What a SunPower Maxeon system costs
There is no manufacturer list price for a SunPower or Maxeon panel in the UK. The one published figure puts SunPower (Maxeon) panels at £280 to £420 per panel installed, described as the most expensive residential tier2. That is a per-panel installed figure, not a system price, and it should be read as a guide rather than a quote.
VAT treatment is more definite. SunPower (Maxeon) panels qualify for 0% VAT when supplied and installed on residential properties in the UK, and that treatment applies to panels, inverters, batteries and mounting equipment supplied under the same contract2. The zero rate is a function of the installation being a qualifying residential supply, so a household buying panels separately from the installation would not necessarily see the same treatment.
Three things move the installed figure: the number of panels, the inverter or microinverter choice, and the roof work. A system using microinverters carries a separate electronics cost and a separate warranty, as above. Beyond that, prices are installer-quoted after a survey, and the range above is the only published UK figure available.
Company status: what failed and what did not

The failure that matters is SunPower Corporation, which filed for relief under Chapter 11 of the US Bankruptcy Code on 6 August 20241. That entity was the US installation and energy-services business. It is not the company that made the panels on a UK roof.
Maxeon Solar Technologies is the panel manufacturer. It was spun off from SunPower Corporation in 2020 and became an independent company selling SunPower panels internationally2. Maxeon states that it is a separate company, did not go bankrupt, and is a financially stable NASDAQ-listed company2. That is the maker's own characterisation of its position, and it is the entity a UK warranty claim would be made against.
The SunPower brand has since been reused. Complete Solaria acquired key assets and relaunched the name in 2025 as a US dealer and installation platform, and SunPower joined the TCL Group in 20252. Neither development changes the warranty holder for panels already sold in the UK.
For a household, the independence question is straightforward. A SunPower or Maxeon array reduces dependence on a electricity supplier for the daytime load it covers, and the 40-year warranty is a long-dated promise from a single company. That promise is only as good as the company's survival over four decades, and the brand's recent history shows how quickly the corporate structure around a panel can change. The panel itself will outlast several owners of the name. Households weighing that risk against other makers can compare the field in solar panel manufacturers, and the wider question of what a warranty is worth when a maker fails is covered in when an energy equipment manufacturer fails.
Sources14 cited
- Homeowner updates, Enphase Energy
- SunPower solar panels UK, Solar Info UK, 2026
- Maxeon solar panels, Maxeon Solar Technologies, 2026
- Most reliable technology, Maxeon Solar Technologies, 2026
- Maxeon FAQs, Maxeon Solar Technologies, 2026
- High efficiency solar panels, JoJu Solar, 2025
- Maxeon warranty, Maxeon Solar Technologies, 2026
- Maxeon support, Maxeon Solar Technologies, 2026
- Technology and innovation, SunPower Global UK, 2025
- AlphaESS and Maxeon strategic partnership, AlphaESS, 2022
- Maxeon Performance solar panels, Maxeon Solar Technologies, 2026
- Going solar for homeowners, Maxeon Solar Technologies, 2026
- SunPower homeowners guide, SunPower Global UK, 2026
- Warranty cover for microinverters, Maxeon Solar Technologies, 2026


SunPower Maxeon 3 panelsThe Maxeon 3 line, its 40-year warranty, its efficiency and heat performance, and what the SunPower and Maxeon company split means for UK buyers.
SunPower and Maxeon panelsSunPower panels sold in the UK now come from a different company than the old American brand, so who actually makes them and does that change the warranty?






