Search

EcoFlow vs BLUETTI power stations

Which one is better for a normal home? What do they actually cost? And can I really keep the lights on if the power goes off?

EcoFlow and BLUETTI power stations sit side by side, with what each one does, how long the battery lasts, what cover you get, and which suits a flat, a house or a family.

Two portable power stations stand side by side on a kitchen table, one slightly larger than the other, each with its charging cable coiled beside it, next to a folded delivery carton, a blank returns form and a small calendar, all lit by daylight from a nearby window.
In this comparison
  1. Two Approaches to Home Power
  2. UK Product Ranges
  3. Availability and Buying
  4. Warranty and Lifespan
  5. Cost and Discounts
  6. Which Brand Suits You
  7. Energy Independence

EcoFlow and BLUETTI are the two names most UK households weigh up when they decide to buy a battery that can run the fridge, the router and a few lights when the grid goes down. The two companies approach that job differently. EcoFlow sells a UK store priced in pounds and a home energy system, the STREAM Ultra, that is sold in the UK as an all-in-one hybrid system with battery storage and a microinverter, plug-and-play without rewiring1. BLUETTI sells a much wider ladder of portable units and solar systems, from a 288Wh Elite 30 V2 up to 2kW, 3kW, 5kW and 6kW solar systems in the UK2.

The practical differences for a buyer sit in four places: what each brand actually stocks in the UK, how quickly it arrives, how long the warranty runs, and how often the price moves. BLUETTI's own pages put warranty cover at 2 to 6 years across its products, with the AC240 and EP500Pro at 6 and 5 years respectively3. Delivery is quoted at 3 to 5 business days from local UK warehouses, free, with a 30 day money-back guarantee4. EcoFlow's UK store quotes 3 to 7 business days and a 30 day return window5.

Neither brand is a substitute for a grid connection or a fixed home battery. Both are consumer electronics businesses with cloud apps, proprietary batteries and their own warranty terms, and both depend on a manufacturer staying solvent and supporting the product. What they buy a household is time: hours of run time on selected circuits, and a way to charge from solar rather than the mains.

EcoFlow and BLUETTI: two different approaches to home power

The split between the two brands is visible in how they describe their own products. BLUETTI frames its range around charging flexibility and uninterruptible supply. Its technology page lists four charging routes, wall outlet, solar panels, Charger 1 and a generator, and states that its power stations provide four distinct uninterruptible power supply modes, ensuring seamless operation during blackouts while also lowering electricity costs by powering devices during off-peak hours2. The Charger 2 is a 1200W alternator and solar dual DC charger, aimed at vehicle-based charging rather than the home9.

EcoFlow's home-facing pitch is energy management rather than backup alone. Its STREAM 5000 system uses Intelligent Mode+ to manage stored and generated energy according to household demand1. That is a different product category from a portable box: it is a hybrid system with a microinverter, intended to sit alongside a property's existing supply and shift when energy is used.

BLUETTI also sells hybrid power solutions, and its own figures claim a cut in noise of up to 85% and a reduction in overall running costs of around 75%10. Those are the maker's claims for its own hybrid product, not independently verified figures, and they describe a system rather than a portable unit.

For a household, the distinction matters in one practical way. A portable power station is carried to where it is needed and plugged into appliances directly. A hybrid or all-in-one system is installed or plugged into the property and interacts with the wiring. The first is a backup appliance; the second starts to behave like a small home battery. The portable power stations page sets out how the first category works, and home battery vs portable power station covers where the line falls.

A white BLUETTI portable power station standing on a shelf in a kitchen next to a fridge and a stand mixer
A white BLUETTI portable power station standing on a shelf in a kitchen next to a fridge and a stand mixer. Image: BLUETTI

What each brand sells in the UK: from portable units to 2kW to 6kW systems

BLUETTI's UK range is broad and tiered. At the small end, the Elite 30 V2 is a 600W, 288Wh unit, and the Elite 100 V2 is 1,024Wh at 1,800W, both listed on sale11. The Elite 200 V2 is 2,073.6Wh at 2,600W, also on sale11. Above that sit the expandable stations and the solar systems: BLUETTI states it offers 2kW, 3kW, 5kW and 6kW solar systems in the UK8.

The Elite series is the current flagship line, and the Elite 400 is the model most often quoted in UK pricing. It stores 3,840Wh, runs a fridge for over 24 hours, charges from 0 to 80% in one hour, and switches to backup in 15ms during a power cut7. The EP500Pro offers 5100Wh of usable capacity and carries a 5 year warranty12.

EcoFlow's UK store carries the portable range and the STREAM system. The STREAM Ultra is sold in the UK as an all-in-one hybrid system with battery storage and a microinverter, described as a plug-and-play solution that does not require rewiring1. A larger 3.84 kWh STREAM Basic System Set, comprising the Ultra, an AC Pro and four 520W panels, was listed at £2,7961.

ModelCapacityPowerUK status
BLUETTI Elite 30 V2288Wh600WOn sale11
BLUETTI Elite 100 V21,024Wh1,800WOn sale11
BLUETTI Elite 200 V22,073.6Wh2,600WOn sale11
BLUETTI Elite 4003,840WhNot statedOn sale, £1,799.006
BLUETTI EP500Pro5100Wh usableNot statedSold out13
EcoFlow STREAM Ultra3.84 kWh in the larger setNot statedSold as a hybrid system1

Stock is not uniform. Several BLUETTI models are listed as sold out, including the EB3A, EB70, AC200P, AC200L and EP500Pro13. That is normal for a range that turns over quickly, but it means a household comparing two brands may find the BLUETTI model it wanted unavailable while the EcoFlow equivalent is in stock, or the reverse.

A plain wall-mounted home battery unit fixed high on a garage wall next to a consumer unit, with a small isometric figure looking at the two, conduit linking them and a cable running down the wall.
Hybrid systems such as the STREAM Ultra sit between a portable station and a fixed home battery. Image: Illustration

Availability and buying: stock, delivery and payment options

A boxed portable power station on a doorstep or hallway floor beside a small delivery parcel, with a simplified isometric figure of a courier placing it down, showing the unit a UK buyer receives within a few business days from a local warehouse.
A portable power station ready for delivery

Both brands ship from within the UK, which removes customs friction but not stock risk. BLUETTI states that most orders arrive within 3 to 5 business days and that shipping is free10. Its sale page repeats the 3 to 5 business day processing window from local UK warehouses15, and its new release page lists free local shipping3. One BLUETTI price list gives a longer estimate of 5 to 7 working days, excluding pre-sale products16.

EcoFlow's UK store states that orders are typically processed and delivered within 3 to 7 business days5. Its returns policy allows a return request within 30 days of receiving the product5.

Payment options differ in emphasis. BLUETTI lists Klarna as a payment option on its new release page3, and its Elite 400 page invites buyers to pay in monthly Klarna instalments17. Its price list describes Klarna as a flexible financing option that allows buy now, pay later16. BLUETTI also runs a referral scheme: friends get 8% off their first purchase and the referrer earns 5% off18.

That condition is worth reading before buying from a marketplace listing rather than the brand's own store. The same applies to the damage reporting window: transport damage must be reported to BLUETTI within 24 hours, and other issues within 48 hours from the date of receipt19.

Warranty and lifespan: 2 to 6 years of cover, and how long the batteries last

BLUETTI's headline warranty position is consistent across its own pages: 2 to 6 years across its products3. Individual models sit at the top of that band. The AC240 carries a 6 year warranty20, the EP500Pro 5 years12, and the Elite 200 V2 is described as having 6,000+ cycles and a 5 year warranty21. The Elite 400 page refers to a global warranty with lifetime support offered by BLUETTI UK6.

Cycle life is the figure that determines how long the battery actually lasts, and BLUETTI publishes it for several models. The Apex 300 with a 350W solar panel is rated at 6,000 cycles and a 17 year lifespan10. The AC200L is listed at over 4,000 cycles and more than 10 years22. BLUETTI's own buying guidance states that its solar panels can last up to 25 years, while its solar batteries last approximately 10 years8. Panels therefore outlast the storage they charge, which is the opposite of what many buyers assume.

Storage discipline matters for any of these units. BLUETTI advises recharging to 80% every 3 to 6 months on the AC24020, and the Elite 100 V2 carries the same instruction to charge every 3 to 6 months23. A unit left flat for a long period is the most common way to shorten its life.

"This extended warranty is now ONLY applicable for the AC200Max, AC200P, or B230 purchased from BLUETTI official website."
BLUETTI, extended warranty terms19
A portable power station standing on a table in a home setting, with a close-up view of its battery label showing capacity and cycle life figures as blank lines and plain blocks, a simplified figure beside it reading the label.
Cycle life, not calendar age, is the figure that governs how long a unit stays useful. Image: Illustration

Cost and discounts: sales, price guarantees and financing

BLUETTI's UK pricing moves with a near-continuous sale calendar, and the discounts are large enough that the list price is rarely what a buyer pays. During the 6th Anniversary Power Week running 7th to 23rd September, the Elite 400 was priced from £1,799.00 with £100 off6, the Elite 30 V2 green variant from £199.00 with £40 off24, and the Elite 100 V2 bundle at £998.00, reduced from £1,098.0025. The FridgePower carried £300.00 off standalone and £400.00 off as a bundle with two BlueCell 200 units and a Display 126.

The wider sale pattern is documented. A New Year Sale offered up to 29% off16, a Prime Day event up to 39% off27, and the Black Friday sale runs from 1st November to 5th December22. A 2026 Prime Summer Power Encore-Sale ran from 27 June to 1 July 2026 with up to 67% off18. A Dark to Green Plan gives 3% off all products10, and a discount code PDUK3 gives 3% off18.

BLUETTI also offers a price guarantee: within 30 days of purchase, if a lower price is found, the difference is refunded14. That is a maker's term, not a statutory right, and it sits alongside the 30 day money-back guarantee3.

EcoFlow's UK pricing is quoted in pounds on its own store5. Where a brand publishes no price for a model, the figure is installer-quoted or bundle-dependent, and no range should be assumed.

Which brand suits which household

A white BLUETTI portable power station standing on a shelf beside a retro green fridge in a kitchen
A portable power station keeping a fridge running Image: BLUETTI

The choice turns on what the household needs the battery to do, not on which brand is better in the abstract.

A household that wants a portable unit to carry between rooms, run a fridge and a router during a cut, and recharge from a car or a generator is served by the BLUETTI portable range. The FridgePower is stated as compatible with 99.65% of household refrigerators, chest freezers, under-counter fridges, fish tanks and aquarium pumps26, which makes it a targeted answer to the single most common backup question. The BLUETTI Elite 200 V2 page covers that model in detail.

A household that wants something closer to a fixed home battery, without rewiring, is looking at the EcoFlow STREAM Ultra, sold in the UK as an all-in-one hybrid system with battery storage and a microinverter1. That is a different purchase with a different installation path, and the EcoFlow page sets out the wider range.

A household that wants a larger solar and storage system has BLUETTI's 2kW to 6kW systems as an option8, and should compare them against a fixed home battery rather than against a portable unit. The backup power costs compared page puts the categories side by side.

Household needCategory that fitsExample
Carry a unit between roomsPortable power stationBLUETTI Elite 100 V2, 1,024Wh11
Run a fridge through a cutPortable station or dedicated fridge hubBLUETTI FridgePower26
Plug-in storage without rewiringAll-in-one hybrid systemEcoFlow STREAM Ultra1
Larger solar and storageSolar system with batteryBLUETTI 2kW to 6kW systems8

What owning a power station means for energy independence

A power station buys a household time and a measure of control, not independence from the grid. The independent case for storage is that it increases self-consumption and reduces reliance on the grid28, and that more homegrown energy means greater energy independence29. Those are the real benefits: energy generated on the property is used on the property, and a battery carries a household through the hours when the grid is unavailable.

The dependence that remains is substantial and worth stating plainly. A portable power station still needs charging, from the mains, from solar panels or from a generator, and the solar route is limited by panel area and daylight. It runs selected appliances, not a whole house. BLUETTI's own claim that the Elite 400 supports 90% of household appliances is a maker's statement about appliance compatibility, not a claim that it can run a home17.

There is also a company dependency. Both brands are consumer electronics manufacturers with their own apps, batteries and warranty terms. BLUETTI describes itself as having 13 years of innovation, 30 subsidiaries, 847 patents, a 130,000 square metre manufacturing base, 3.5 million global users and coverage of more than 120 countries and regions9. Those are the maker's own figures, and the patent count is disputed between its own pages, which also cite 1,000+ patents worldwide. EcoFlow cites Frost & Sullivan research completed in December 2025 as the source for its smart home energy storage positioning30.

For a household, the honest summary is that a power station is a resilience appliance with a finite service life, a warranty of 2 to 6 years, and a battery that will need replacing long before the panels that charge it. It reduces exposure to a short outage and to peak-rate electricity. It does not remove the grid, the supplier or the manufacturer from the picture. The backup power and energy independence page develops that trade-off, and the backup power hub covers the wider options.

Sources30 cited
  1. Home battery storage, EcoFlow, 2026-09-08
  2. BLUETTI technology, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  3. BLUETTI UK new release, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  4. BLUETTI UK home, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  5. EcoFlow UK store, EcoFlow, 2026-09-17
  6. BLUETTI Elite 400 with 350W solar panel, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  7. BLUETTI solar battery cost guide, BLUETTI UK, 2026-08-03
  8. BLUETTI 4kW solar system with battery UK, BLUETTI UK, 2023-09-28
  9. BLUETTI Charger 2, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  10. BLUETTI hybrid power solutions, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  11. BLUETTI 1 to 2kWh collection, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  12. BLUETTI EP500Pro, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  13. BLUETTI best sellers, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  14. BLUETTI home backup for sale, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  15. BLUETTI sale, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  16. BLUETTI New Year sale, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  17. BLUETTI Elite 400 portable power station, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  18. 2026 BLUETTI Prime Summer Power Encore-Sale, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  19. BLUETTI extended warranty, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  20. BLUETTI AC240, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  21. EcoFlow portable power station 2000W, EcoFlow, 2025-10-24
  22. BLUETTI Black Friday, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  23. BLUETTI Elite 100 V2, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  24. BLUETTI Elite 30 V2 green, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  25. BLUETTI Elite series, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  26. BLUETTI FridgePower Charger 2, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  27. BLUETTI Prime Day, BLUETTI UK, 2026-09-19
  28. Electrical energy storage systems, Flexi-Orb, 2025-04-22
  29. Solar Energy Scotland manifesto, Solar Energy UK, 2026-09-17
  30. EcoFlow PowerOcean, EcoFlow, 2026-09-17

Questions

Answers here, and more on their own pages.

How long does BLUETTI take to deliver in the UK?

BLUETTI states that most orders arrive within 3 to 5 business days, processed from local UK warehouses, and that shipping is free. One BLUETTI price list gives a longer estimate of 5 to 7 working days, excluding pre-sale products. EcoFlow's UK store quotes 3 to 7 business days. Both brands ship from within the UK, so no import duty or customs delay applies to standard orders.

Can I return a BLUETTI power station if I change my mind?

BLUETTI offers a 30 day money-back guarantee. Its refund terms require the product to be complete, unused and returned in its original packaging. Transport damage must be reported within 24 hours of receipt and other issues within 48 hours. EcoFlow's UK store also allows returns within 30 days of receiving the product. Check the current terms on the brand's own site before ordering.

Does BLUETTI offer financing or buy now, pay later?

Yes. BLUETTI lists Klarna as a flexible financing option that allows buy now, pay later, and its Elite 400 product page invites buyers to pay in monthly Klarna instalments. BLUETTI also runs a referral scheme where friends get 8% off a first purchase and the referrer earns 5% off. Financing availability and terms are set by the provider, not the brand.

Is EcoFlow stock hard to find in the UK?

EcoFlow runs a dedicated UK store priced in pounds, so its own range is sold directly rather than only through third parties. Stock pressure in this market is more visible at BLUETTI, where several models including the EB3A, EB70, AC200P, AC200L and EP500Pro are listed as sold out. Availability changes constantly, so check the product page on the day.

What is the difference between a power station and a plug-in solar kit?

A power station stores energy in a battery and discharges it to appliances, charged from a wall outlet, solar panels, a car alternator or a generator. A plug-in solar kit generates from panels and feeds a property. EcoFlow's STREAM Ultra is sold in the UK as an all-in-one hybrid system with battery storage and a microinverter, plug-and-play without rewiring, so it sits between the two.

How long do BLUETTI solar panels last compared with the battery?

BLUETTI states its solar panels can last up to 25 years, while its solar batteries last approximately 10 years. Cycle life figures support that gap: the Apex 300 with a 350W panel is rated at 6,000 cycles and a 17 year lifespan, and the AC200L at over 4,000 cycles and more than 10 years. Panels generally outlast the storage they charge.

Does BLUETTI have UK service support?

BLUETTI advertises lifetime customer support and 22 global service centres, and its Elite 400 page refers to a global warranty with lifetime support offered by BLUETTI UK. Extended warranty cover is narrower: it applies only to the AC200Max, AC200P or B230 bought from the official website, with purchases from other platforms requiring a separate application.