Search

Dyness launches Powerbox G2 upgraded flagship household storage product

Dyness has announced the Powerbox G2, an upgraded low-voltage household battery with a higher discharge rate, built-in fire protection and a smaller footprint than the Powerbox Pro it follows.

A newspaper on a kitchen table beside a model of home batteries

Dyness announced the Powerbox G2 on 27 September 2024, describing it as an upgraded flagship residential energy storage system and its latest release for low-voltage residential scenarios1. The company said the product follows the Powerbox Pro, which it calls a star product with popularity in British and Australian households1.

The Powerbox G2 is quoted with a maximum discharge rate of 1C, a maximum discharge current of 200A and a maximum discharge power of 10.24kW, based on a nominal battery energy of 10.24kWh1. Dyness states the unit has a 95% depth of discharge and long-cycle life cells, and that it supports unlimited cycles within 10 years1. A heating function, using heating layers attached to the battery, is said to allow operation in extremely cold conditions1.

On safety, Dyness says the Powerbox G2 has an inbuilt active fire-protection system made up of a temperature or fire sensor and an aerosol fire extinguishing unit, plus watertight breather valves intended to prevent gas accumulation inside the system1. The company also reports a square structure with a shortened power cable path, which it says reduces system impedance and heating and improves running efficiency1.

Against the Powerbox Pro, Dyness reports a height reduction of 290mm and a width reduction of 50mm, giving a 15% reduction in weight and a 30% reduction in volume1. The unit has a hidden wall bracket and a built-in side handle, a white front panel with an optional white glass front cover, and a customisable LED status light1. Dyness says the system supports its Dyness Smart APP for real-time monitoring and state-of-charge optimisation, over-the-air upgrades, and automatic identification of master and slave batteries in parallel operation1.

"The Powerbox G2, an upgraded flagship residential energy storage system, is the latest release for low-voltage residential scenarios, with robust capability and enhanced user experience."
Dyness, company news, 27 September 20241
MeasurePowerbox G2 figure
Maximum discharge rate1C
Maximum discharge current200A
Maximum discharge power10.24kW
Nominal battery energy10.24kWh
Depth of discharge95%
Height versus Powerbox Pro290mm less
Width versus Powerbox Pro50mm less
Weight versus Powerbox Pro15% less
Volume versus Powerbox Pro30% less

Why it matters for households

For a household weighing up home batteries, the discharge figures are the ones that decide how much of a home's demand can be met at once. A 10.24kWh nominal battery discharging at up to 10.24kW is quoted as being able to run high-draw appliances, such as an oven, heat pump or electric shower, without leaning on the grid at that moment1. The 95% depth of discharge indicates how much of the stated capacity the maker says is usable, which affects how much stored solar a home can actually draw on1.

The reduced height, width, weight and volume matter where a battery has to fit a garage wall, utility cupboard or outbuilding, and the maker presents the smaller envelope as a way of cutting the installation space needed1. The fire-protection and venting features sit in the part of the market where safety certification and insurance questions are usually raised, though the announcement does not state which UK standards the unit holds or whether it is certified for UK installation. Dyness has not reported UK pricing, availability dates, warranty terms or installer arrangements for the Powerbox G2, and no UK certification or accreditation has been announced1. Households comparing it with the existing Dyness PowerBox Pro or the wider Dyness home battery range will find the G2's specifications published but its route to a UK installation unstated1. The practical link between stored capacity and reduced reliance on imported electricity is set out in home batteries and household energy independence.

What happens next

No launch date, price, UK distribution or certification timeline has been reported1.

Sources1 cited
  1. Powerbox G2: Dyness Brand New Upgraded Flagship Household Storage Product - Commpany News | Battery Energy Storage Systems Provider - Dyness, dyness.com