Wind & Sun announced on 1 October 2025 that the BYD Battery-Box HVB battery storage system is now available to order1. The distributor describes it as the first residential and small commercial battery storage system to use BYD Blade Battery technology1.
The system is a high-voltage battery that scales in stacks. Each stack holds 5.9 to 29.6 kWh, and up to three stacks can be connected in parallel for increased capacity1. The enclosure carries an IP55 rating and the warranty runs for 15 years1. The listed price is £1,025.041. Wind & Sun states that the flexible expandable design "allows additional modules to be added at anytime and at any SOC (state of charge)"1.
"The HVB is perfectly partnered with Fronius' range of Verto Plus hybrid inverters"
The announcement does not state which inverter brands other than Fronius the HVB can work with, nor whether it can be added to an existing solar array, and no installation or commissioning costs are given1. The price shown is for the product as listed by Wind & Sun; it is not stated whether that figure covers a single module or a complete stack1.
| Specification | Figure given |
|---|---|
| Capacity per stack | 5.9 to 29.6 kWh |
| Parallel stacks | Up to 3 |
| Enclosure rating | IP55 |
| Warranty | 15 years |
| Listed price | £1,025.04 |
Why it matters for households
A home battery changes what a household can do with the electricity it generates or buys. Storing surplus output from a solar PV array means the power can be used in the evening rather than exported, and charging overnight on a cheaper tariff means some of the day's demand can be met without drawing from the grid at peak times. Both routes reduce the amount of power a home buys at the most expensive hours, which is the practical core of adding battery storage to a solar system.
The HVB's modular design matters for households planning in stages. A stack can start small and be extended later, and Wind & Sun states modules can be added at any state of charge, which avoids the need to drain the battery before an upgrade1. The 15 year warranty is longer than many home batteries carry, though the terms behind it are not set out in the announcement1. The IP55 rating indicates protection against dust and water jets, which is relevant to where a unit can be sited, but the announcement does not say whether the system is rated for outdoor installation1.
Households weighing a battery should note what the announcement does not cover. There is no stated round-trip efficiency, no depth of discharge, no cycle life and no indication of whether the system provides backup power during a power cut. Backup capability depends on the inverter and the wiring arrangement rather than the battery alone, and none of that is described here1. Buyers comparing this unit against others in the BYD Battery-Box range will need the full datasheet, which has not been reported.
What happens next
No delivery dates, installation timelines or stock levels are given in the announcement1. Wind & Sun has not stated which other products in the BYD line will follow, and no further launch dates are reported1.
Sources1 cited
- [Introducing: BYD Battery-Box HVB
– Wind & Sun](https://www.windandsun.co.uk/blogs/blog/introducing-byd-battery-box-hvb), windandsun.co.uk
