Simpson & Partners has updated the warranty terms for its electric vehicle chargers, with the new terms applying to units purchased after 1st April 20251. The page carrying the terms is dated 08.02.251. The company has designed and tested electric vehicle chargers since 20161.
The updated warranty sets out two periods of cover. The enclosure carries a 10 year warranty, and the power electronics carry a 5 year warranty1. On the enclosure, the company states that metal or wood components that fail will be replaced, guaranteed for the product's entire lifetime1. The chargers are described as built with modular, upgradable enclosures made from painted metal and wood, and as using high copper content PCBs and conformal coating1.
"Updated Warranty: for units purchased after 1st April 2025"
On claims, the company states that its technical team will work with the customer to resolve an issue, including remote diagnostics and repair1. Where an on-site warranty visit is required, a deposit is required to cover attendance and transit, and that sum is returnable if the unit is faulty1. To take advantage of the warranty offer, the unit must be registered in accordance with the customer information supplied with the unit at purchase, and the invoice date and serial number must be available1.
| Cover | Period stated |
|---|---|
| Enclosure | 10 years |
| Power electronics | 5 years |
| Metal or wood components | Product's entire lifetime |
Why it matters for households
A charger is fixed equipment on a home's electricity supply, and the length of its cover affects how long a household can expect the unit to keep working without paying for a replacement out of its own pocket. The split here is between the parts most exposed to weather and the parts carrying the electrical load: the enclosure is covered for 10 years, the power electronics for 51. The lifetime guarantee on metal and wood components sits alongside the 10 year enclosure term, and the page does not set out how the two interact1.
Two conditions shape what the cover is worth in practice. Registration is required for the warranty offer to apply, so an unregistered unit may not be covered1. And an on-site visit carries a deposit, returnable only if the unit is faulty, so a callout that finds no fault leaves the household out of pocket1. The page does not state the deposit amount1. Households weighing a charger against others on the market can compare these terms with the wider picture set out in EV charge point warranties and aftercare, and with how workmanship cover sits alongside manufacturer cover in workmanship warranties, service plans and aftercare.
What happens next
The updated terms apply to units purchased after 1st April 20251. The page does not state what changes for units bought on or before that date, and no further dates are given1.
Sources1 cited
- Reliable EV Charger Warranty | Lifetime Coverage You Can Trust, simpson-partners.com
