Search

Zapmap updates its EV connector types guide

Zapmap has updated its guide to electric vehicle charger connector types, setting out the power levels and cable requirements for the connectors used on UK cars and charge points.

A newspaper on a kitchen table beside a model of ev charging

Zapmap published an updated version of its guide to EV charger connector types on 20 May 2026, covering Type 1, Type 2, CCS, CHAdeMO, Tesla Type 2, Commando and 3-pin connectors1. The guide sets out which connectors are used for alternating current (AC) charging and which for direct current (DC) charging, and the cables needed to use each1.

Type 2 (Mennekes) is described as the standard for EVs in the UK and Europe for home and public AC charging, with a seven-pin connector supporting power levels typically from 3.7kW to 7.4kW for home, workplace and on-street charging, and higher levels of 22kW with three-phase power, or less commonly 43kW1. A Type 2 to Type 2 cable is required for most modern EVs1. Type 1 connectors, with five pins and AC charging up to 7.4kW, are used on a few older EVs, notably older Nissan Leaf models, which need a Type 1 to Type 2 cable to access the AC public network1.

For DC charging, CCS (Combined Charging System) is given as the standard for Rapid DC charging in the UK and Europe, with two additional DC pins alongside the Type 2 shape, supporting 25kW to 400kW+1. CHAdeMO is primarily used for Rapid DC charging on older Nissan Leaf models, with power levels from 25kW up to 400kW, most commonly 50kW, and few CHAdeMO chargers in the UK powered above 100kW1.

The guide also covers less common connectors. Tesla Type 2 connectors are used for both AC and DC charging on older Model S and Model X vehicles, supporting AC charging up to 11kW or 22kW and DC Supercharging up to 150kW1. Commando connectors, often found at campsites, marinas and workshops, are used for heavy-duty AC charging and require a Type 2 to Commando portable cable with a 5-pin Commando plug at one end1. Three-pin connectors support AC charging at approximately 2.3kW, and a full charge for a large EV battery can take over 24 hours1.

"Charging with a 3-pin plug, whilst it can be useful occasionally, is not recommended, as it is slow, and poses safety risks from the socket overheating or continuous draw of high current."
Zapmap, connector types guide1

On home charging, the guide states that home chargers typically have Type 2 inlets, although some have Type 1, and support power levels up to 7.4kW as most homes have single-phase power1. Home chargers can be tethered, with the cable permanently attached, or untethered, where the driver uses their own cable1. For untethered units the cable needs the right connector at each end, typically Type 2 at the charger inlet and Type 2 at the vehicle inlet, or Type 1 to Type 2 in some cases1. More detail on tethered and untethered units is set out in the site's guide to types of home EV charger.

ConnectorPinsTypical usePower range given
Type 1FiveAC charging, older EVs including older Nissan LeafUp to 7.4kW
Type 2SevenAC charging, UK and Europe standard3.7kW to 7.4kW; 22kW three-phase; less commonly 43kW
CCSType 2 plus two DC pinsRapid DC charging standard25kW to 400kW+
CHAdeMONot statedRapid DC charging, older Nissan Leaf25kW to 400kW, most commonly 50kW
Tesla Type 2Not statedAC and DC, older Model S and Model XAC up to 11kW or 22kW; DC up to 150kW
CommandoFiveHeavy-duty AC, campsites and workshopsNot stated
3-pinNot statedTrickle charging via domestic socketApproximately 2.3kW

Why it matters for households

The connector on a car determines which charge points it can use and which cable a household needs to keep. A home with a Type 2 vehicle and an untethered home charger depends on a Type 2 to Type 2 cable to charge at all, while a household running an older Type 1 model needs a Type 1 to Type 2 cable for both home and public AC points1. On the public network, AC chargers are mostly untethered, so the cable is the household's own, whereas Rapid and Ultra-rapid DC chargers are tethered and compatibility depends on the car's inlet rather than a cable the driver supplies1. The guide's power figures also set expectations for charging at home: a single-phase supply supports up to 7.4kW, and a 3-pin domestic socket delivers roughly 2.3kW, which the guide says can take over 24 hours for a large battery1. Zapmap's wider EV charging material covers the surrounding equipment, including the Tesla Gen 3 Wall Connector and the Tesla Wall Connector for home charging, with a separate comparison of the Tesla Wall Connector and Zappi.

What happens next

No further update date or scheduled revision to the guide has been reported1.

Sources3 cited
  1. The complete UK guide to EV charger connector types - Zapmap, zapmap.com
  2. The complete UK guide to EV charger connector types - Zapmap, zap-map.com
  3. The complete UK guide to EV charger connector types - Zapmap, zap-map.com