Search

Wallbox solar charging features launched for new E.ON Next installations

E.ON Next has added solar charging features to new Wallbox installations from 28 April 2025 at no extra cost, but existing customers cannot currently upgrade.

A newspaper on a kitchen table beside a model of ev charging

E.ON Next has introduced solar charging features for new Wallbox installations from 28 April 2025, included at no additional cost. The company states that these features are only available for new installations from that date, and existing installations are not currently eligible for an upgrade1.

The Wallbox Pulsar Max charger starts from £1,049, with a £50 discount for E.ON Next customers and a £30 loyalty discount for existing E.ON Next customers1. Installation is included as part of buying a charger from E.ON Next, covering a video survey and a standard installation with a run of 0 to 5 metres of cable from charger to electricity meter1. Payment is made to EES Ltd directly and cannot be deducted from an energy bill; an invoice arrives within 14 days of installation and must be paid within 30 days1.

The chargers are not available outside mainland UK or in Northern Ireland, HS1 to HS9, KW15 to KW17, ZE1 to ZE3, PO30 to PO41, BT, JE or GY postcodes1. The chargers support Type 2 cables, and a Type 2 cable is supplied with each Wallbox unit1.

A government grant of up to £350 including VAT is available towards the cost of buying and installing a home charger. Eligibility requires owning or using an electric vehicle, living in a flat or renting a home, and having a private off-street parking space1.

"Currently, these features are only available for new installations from 28 April 2025."
E.ON Next,1

Why it matters for households

Solar charging features allow a Wallbox unit to manage when a vehicle draws power, which affects how much of a home's own solar generation can be used for charging rather than exported. For a household with solar panels, this can change the economics of running an electric vehicle, since self-consumed solar electricity avoids the cost of grid import. Households without solar panels see no practical difference from these features.

The restriction to new installations means the benefit is not available to the existing base of E.ON Next Wallbox owners, who cannot currently upgrade. The company has not reported a date or process for extending eligibility to existing installations.

Separately, E.ON Next states that its EV chargers do not support direct charging from solar panels and must be connected to the electrical grid1. The solar charging features announced here relate to how the charger manages a charging session, not to direct panel-to-vehicle charging. Households considering charging an EV from solar panels should note this distinction.

The charger defaults to operating within 22:00 to 08:00 and 11:00 to 16:00, in line with current regulation, and this can be overridden by tapping an RFID card twice with a 15 second gap1. A randomised delay of up to 10 minutes applies at the start of charging, required by smart charging regulations introduced on 30 June 2022, and can be overridden with a single RFID tap1. Dynamic load balancing monitors current usage at the property and adjusts charger output to prevent overload when other high-demand appliances are in use1.

What happens next

No date has been reported for when existing Wallbox installations might become eligible for the solar charging features. E.ON Next has not reported any change to the £1,049 starting price, the discount structure or the grant arrangements.

Sources1 cited
  1. Get support with your EV charger, eonnext.com