Search

Grace period begins for MCS 005 solar PV products

MCS has opened a six-month grace period for solar PV products that lose certification under updated standards, allowing existing stock to be used in certified installations until 1 February 2027.

A newspaper on a kitchen table beside a model of rules and regulation

MCS has introduced a six-month grace period for solar PV products that lose their certification when updated product standards take effect on 1 August 2026. The grace period runs from the date of certificate withdrawal on 1 August 2026 until 1 February 20271.

Four updated standards come into effect on that date: MCS 005 Issue 4.0 (Solar PV Product Standard), MCS 004 Issue 4.0 (Solar Heating Product Standard), MCS 017 Issue 2.0 (BBIPV Product Standard) and MCS 006 Issue 3.0 (Wind Product Standard)1. From 1 August 2026, compliance with the updated standards becomes mandatory, and products that have not transitioned to comply will no longer meet MCS requirements and therefore lose their certification1. The grace period applies only to MCS 005 solar PV products1.

MCS states that the withdrawal of these products is not due to any identified safety concerns1. The stated purpose is to allow existing product stock held within the supply chain to be exhausted and used as part of MCS certified installations1. MCS adds that the arrangement is not a product certificate extension and should not be regarded as an opportunity for manufacturers to continue producing or bringing affected products into the market during the grace period1.

"MCS certified installers may use grace period products in MCS certified installations until 1 February 2027."
MCS, source1

Affected products will be marked in the MCS Installations Database and the MCS Product Directory with the label 'GRACE PERIOD' after the certification number, with certification dates displayed as 01/08/2026 to 01/02/20271. MCS has said the grace period will not be extended1.

StandardUpdated versionGrace period
Solar PVMCS 005 Issue 4.0Yes, to 1 February 2027
Solar HeatingMCS 004 Issue 4.0Not reported
BBIPVMCS 017 Issue 2.0Not reported
WindMCS 006 Issue 3.0Not reported

Why it matters for households

MCS certification is the route by which a solar PV installation qualifies for government schemes and is recognised as compliant. A product that loses certification on 1 August 2026 without the grace period could not be used in an MCS certified installation, which would affect the status of the installation itself. The grace period keeps that route open for stock already in the supply chain, so a household having panels fitted before 1 February 2027 may receive equipment whose certificate was withdrawn on 1 August 2026. The MCS certification for solar PV installations page sets out how certification works. MCS has said the withdrawal is not due to safety concerns1, and no safety issue has been reported. The practical effect is on the paperwork and scheme eligibility attached to a given product, not on whether the equipment is considered unsafe. Households weighing equipment choices can read more in the solar PV section, including hybrid inverters and roof-integrated solar.

What happens next

The grace period ends on 1 February 2027 and MCS has said it will not be extended1. MCS says it will continue to work with manufacturers and product certification bodies to minimise disruption, and will provide updates and reminders as the deadline approaches1. Questions can be directed to the MCS Helpdesk on 0333 103 8130 or hello@mcscertified.com1.

Sources1 cited
  1. Grace period for solar PV products announced ahead of implementation of four updated product standards - MCS, mcscertified.com