Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks (SSEN) has begun a £5.4 million substation reinforcement project in Ealing, West London, with work starting in May 20251. The project involves installing two new transformers at the Southfield Road substation, which currently serves approximately 20,000 customers1.
The transformers will be built offsite by SSEN's contract partner, OCU Group, and then connected in a staged sequence using space within the existing substation site, a method SSEN says is intended to minimise disruption1. The first phase, running until Summer 2026, covers enabling works including demolition of redundant buildings, with the main electrical works due to start in Autumn 20251. SSEN states the upgrade is scheduled for completion in Summer 20261.
SSEN says the new equipment will boost the substation's capacity to meet future demand and support growth from people seeking to generate their own electricity, and that the 20,000 customers served by the site will benefit from a more resilient power supply1. The project forms part of a £75 million investment programme in SSEN's West London electricity network1.
"This reinforcement project is a crucial step in ensuring that our infrastructure can support the growing energy needs of our customers in West London. By installing state-of-the-art transformers, we are enhancing both the safety and capacity of the substation, which will have long-term benefits as we all move towards adopting low-carbon technologies to power our homes, workplaces and public services."
SSEN describes the work as one of many planned upgrades aimed at future-proofing the network and supporting the transition to low-carbon technologies including electric vehicles, solar panels and heat pumps1. The company has not reported any planned interruptions to supply during the works, nor any change to the number of customers served once the project is complete.
Why it matters for households
A substation's capacity sets a ceiling on how much electricity can be drawn from, or fed into, the local network. For a household in the Southfield Road area, reinforcement of this kind is what allows low-carbon equipment to be added without the connection being refused or restricted. SSEN explicitly links the upgrade to growth from customers generating their own electricity, which covers domestic solar panels and, in time, export of surplus power to the grid1. The same capacity supports the shift to heat pumps and electric vehicle charging, both of which draw substantially more power than the gas boilers and petrol or diesel cars they replace1.
Resilience is the second element. SSEN says the 20,000 customers served by the substation will benefit from a more resilient power supply, which in practice concerns the frequency and length of unplanned outages rather than price1. Nothing in the announcement changes any household's tariff, meter or connection agreement, and no cost to customers is stated. The £5.4 million figure is SSEN's project cost, and the £75 million figure is the wider West London programme of which it forms part1. How such network investment is recovered through regulated charges is not set out in the announcement.
What happens next
Enabling works, including demolition of redundant buildings, run from May 2025 until Summer 2026, with the main electrical works beginning in Autumn 20251. Completion of the full upgrade is scheduled for Summer 20261. SSEN has not reported a date for the new transformers entering service, nor any timetable for further projects under the £75 million West London programme1.
