Search

Household Support Fund extension announced

The Chancellor announced funding on 30 October 2024 to extend the Household Support Fund for a further year, with £742 million going to local authorities in England from April 2025.

A newspaper on a kitchen table beside a model of grants and schemes

The Chancellor of the Exchequer announced funding on 30 October 2024 to enable the extension of the Household Support Fund, according to government guidance for local councils1. Local authorities in England will receive an additional £742 million to support those in need locally through the fund1. The funding will be available to Local Authorities in England from 1 April 2025 and will run until 31 March 20261.

The Household Support Fund was distributed by councils in England to directly help those who needed it most, through small payments to support vulnerable households meet daily needs such as food, clothing, and utilities1. The scheme applies to England1. The guidance states that households in need of support should contact their local council to find out more information and apply for the fund1.

The announcement follows a series of extensions since the fund was created. On 30 September 2021, the government announced a new £500 million support fund covering 6 October 2021 to 31 March 20221. On 23 March 2022 the Chancellor announced an extension to 30 September 2022 with an additional £500 million1. On 26 May 2022 a further extension to 31 March 2023 was announced, again with an additional £500 million, of which the devolved governments were to receive up to £79 million through the Barnett formula1.

On 17 November 2022, as part of the Autumn Statement, the government announced an additional £1 billion, with a further £842 million in England to extend the fund from 1 April 2023 to 31 March 20241. In the Spring Budget, an additional £500 million was announced, with Local Authorities in England receiving £421 million from 1 April 2024 to 30 September 20241. On 2 September, the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions announced a further £500 million, with £421 million for Local Authorities in England from 1 October 2024 to 31 March 20251.

The guidance states that the 30 October 2024 announcement includes funding for the Devolved Governments through the Barnett formula to be spent at their discretion1. It says the funding brings the total announced since October 2021 to £3.5 billion including Barnett impact, with just under £3 billion allocated to Local Authorities in England1. The guidance does not state the Barnett consequentials for Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland arising from the 2025 to 2026 extension1.

"On 30 October 2024, the Chancellor of the Exchequer announced funding to enable the extension of the Household Support Fund, including funding for the Devolved Governments through the Barnett formula to be spent at their discretion."
Household Support Fund: guidance for local councils, GOV.UK1
PeriodFunding announcedAllocation to Local Authorities in England
6 October 2021 to 31 March 2022£500 millionNot stated separately
1 April 2022 to 30 September 2022£500 millionNot stated separately
1 October 2022 to 31 March 2023£500 millionNot stated separately
1 April 2023 to 31 March 2024£1 billion£842 million
1 April 2024 to 30 September 2024£500 million£421 million
1 October 2024 to 31 March 2025£500 million£421 million
1 April 2025 to 31 March 2026Not stated separately£742 million

Why it matters for households

The fund is one of the routes by which households on low incomes can receive small payments towards essentials, including utilities1. Because it is administered by councils rather than paid automatically, eligibility and the form support takes vary by area, and the guidance directs households to their local council for details and applications1. For a household's energy independence, the practical effect is indirect: the fund can cover utility costs, but it does not change tariffs, metering or the energy performance of a home. The extension to 31 March 2026 means the route remains open for a further year in England1. Separate arrangements apply in the devolved nations, where it is for the devolved governments to decide how to allocate Barnett funding1. Further detail on help for low-income households in England and on home energy grants and schemes is set out elsewhere on this site.

What happens next

The funding is available to Local Authorities in England from 1 April 2025 and runs until 31 March 20261. Guidance for county councils and unitary authorities in England covering 1 April 2025 to 31 March 2026, a grant determination (31/7670) and management information reporting requirements and template were added to the government page on 19 March 20251. The page was subsequently updated on 7 January 2026 to remove outdated documents, and on 1 April 2026 to remove reference to Income Support and Income-related JSA from paragraph 78 of the guidance1. No funding announcement beyond 31 March 2026 is reported1.

Sources1 cited
  1. Household Support Fund: guidance for local councils - GOV.UK, gov.uk