Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks (SSEN) Distribution has appointed the Freedom Group of Companies Ltd as design and build contractor for a package of 12 network investment projects, the company announced on 21 December 2022. The projects carry a combined value of £41 million and are intended to unlock over 122MW of additional capacity across the north of Scotland and central southern England1.
SSEN said it and Freedom "expect to move into the detailed design and construction phase for all 12 projects in January 2023", "with a view to all 12 projects being completed by July 2024"1. The schemes were approved by the energy regulator Ofgem after a public call for evidence in 2021 that drew submissions from local authorities, developers and community groups1.
"SSEN is delighted to announce the appointment of the Freedom Group of Companies Ltd to assist us in this substantial programme of works across our north and south distribution areas."
The individual projects and their stated capacity gains are:
| Location | Investment | Stated capacity |
|---|---|---|
| Kirkwall, Orkney | £2.7m | 7.3MW |
| Clachan, North Uist | £2m | Not stated |
| Dundee | £3m | 12.8MW |
| Thurso | £2.8m | 12MW |
| Dorset | £2.2m | 7.2MW |
| Oxfordshire | £7m | 28MW |
| Rownhams, Hampshire | £9m | 30MW |
| North Baddesley, Hampshire | Over £3.6m | 12.8MW |
| Bishops Waltham, Hampshire | £2.9m | Over 5.5MW |
The Orkney work covers 16km of overhead power lines fed from Kirkwall Primary substation, and SSEN states it will support the development of the UK's first low carbon, operationally-based aviation test centre at Kirkwall Airport1. In the Western Isles, the existing transformer at Clachan Primary Substation in North Uist will be replaced with two upgraded transformers, increasing capacity for around 1,300 homes and businesses and supporting the future connection of an electric ferry route1. The Dundee scheme replaces two transformers and 0.3km of underground cable at Constable Street Substation, supporting charging for electric buses and emergency service fleets1. In Dorset, 2km of fluid cable and 0.8km of solid cable will be replaced1. The Oxfordshire works include reinforcing transformers, over 10km of overhead line and 1km of underground cable1. In Hampshire, the North Baddesley scheme reinforces over 4.8km of overhead line and 100m of underground cable1.
SSEN is also installing around 1,000 low voltage monitors at key points across its north and south distribution areas, which it says provide near real-time visibility in areas where high electricity demand from electric vehicles and electric heating is predicted1.
Why it matters for households
These are upgrades to the local electricity distribution network, the part of the system that carries power from substations to individual streets and properties. SSEN is the distribution network operator for over 3.8 million homes and businesses across central southern England and the north of Scotland1. The stated purpose of the investment is to accommodate increased demand from electric vehicle charging and the electrification of heat, so the capacity released at each site is capacity that future connections in those areas would otherwise have to wait for or fund themselves. For a household considering a heat pump, an electric vehicle chargepoint or solar panels, the constraint that matters is usually at this local level rather than on the national transmission system. The low voltage monitors are intended to give SSEN better information about where demand is rising, which the company says will help it manage local infrastructure and identify how best to optimise capacity1. The announcement does not state how any individual property or street will be affected, and no connection dates or queue positions for specific addresses have been reported.
What happens next
SSEN and Freedom expect to enter detailed design and construction in January 2023, with all 12 projects targeted for completion by July 20241. No further milestones have been reported.
